Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Chili and Cornbread

veganmofo2009

I eat chili year round, but there is something extra special about a hearty spicy warming bowl of chili with cornbread on a nasty day in early fall. (Like today.) I’m not the only one who is feeling this way! One of my friends posted about her chili and cornbread yesterday, and it was one of those recipes that magically needed nothing I didn’t already have in my approaching-pathetic pantry, so tonight I followed her example!

I love chili and cornbread. In fact, it was my most commonly home-made meal when I purchased my first cookbook. I was vegetarian at the time. Only after I went vegan did I notice that my favorite vegetarian recipes were already vegan! It was a pivotal moment; up until then I was convinced that going vegan meant I was sacrificing tasty food for the sake of the animals. That misconception turned out to be a big joke (on me!) because it was only after I went vegan that I started exploring food for real. All the foods I’d never tried before going vegan, and which I now consider staples, would take up an entire page! Maybe that will be a later blog post…

I want to remind everyone that tomorrow is Blog Action Day.

I mentioned it a few weeks ago, but I have heard hardly anyone talking about it, and it seems a shame that there might not be many vegans speaking up this year. A couple exceptions: nothoney and stephanie. This year it is a topic custom made for vegans: Climate Change. And I saw a post from a week or so ago that makes it clear they are very interested to hear what food bloggers have to say. Of course they specifically mentioned the Slow Food people, so Vegans really need to represent. And with all the great info out there, from FARM, from the UN, others besides, it is easy for vegan food bloggers to represent. Sign up for BAD, and do your normal VeganMoFo blog post, with a paragraph about Climate Change. I think it will speak for itself. Or go all out and research and write up a storm. I just want there to be a lot of vegans, and especially vegan food bloggers writing for BAD!

6 responses to “Chili and Cornbread

  1. trktos October 14, 2009 at 9:20 pm

    Heeey, that chili looks pretty damn good! 😉 Glad I could help you procrastinate longer on your shopping.! I think I finally have to go to WF tomorrow.

    I just signed up for this BAD thing btw. Don’t really know what I’ll say but I figure there’s no need to let that stop me!

  2. Deb October 14, 2009 at 10:21 pm

    It has ended up being more servings than I would have expected too! I have multiple days worth of food!!! Yay!! 🙂

    As for the BAD thing, talk about whatever aspect of climate change you know about or that fires your passion, and of course the vegan tie-in is pretty obvious. I have my post scheduled to go off at 6am tomorrow morning, so you can take a look at what I write (I ramble, as a warning, in case you didn’t already get that from my previous posts! lol), and nothoney was talking about scheduling hers for midnight. I bet ours will be vastly different, which should give you the idea that yours can be whatever it happens to be! It’s a pretty broad topic, overall. Glad you signed up!

  3. jenitreehugger October 15, 2009 at 4:57 am

    That looks amazing. Thanks for the heads up on BAD – I will sign up now.
    🙂

  4. Mo October 15, 2009 at 4:57 pm

    That chili and cornbread is just gorgeous!

  5. Deb October 15, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    @jenitreehugger – great, thanks for signing up! 🙂

    @Mo – thanks! They’re mighty tasty too!

  6. Pingback: GlueandGlitter.com » Friday Roundup: Vegan MOFO #2

Leave a comment