Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Daily Archives: October 9, 2009

Puffed Millet

veganmofo2009

Puffed Millet sounds like the name of a penguin, somehow. But it isn’t. It is millet turned into a sort of rice krispie style cereal, only slightly less crunchy. There is, however, a snap crackle and pop!

I got the bag of Puffed Millet for a recipe. Once upon a time. And I can no longer remember what recipe it was for, so the bag has been in my kitchen for a while, giving me pause (“what did I get that for again?”) every time I see it. I’m not much of a cereal person in the mornings (or, I guess, ever), but not because I don’t like them. Just because it isn’t my habit, for whatever reason. This morning I was stretched thin in terms of what to bring to work. I had done a meager shopping trip on the way home from the sanctuary last sunday, after the epic day of the Open House, but I hadn’t done a good job of it and I was running out of food to bring to work. Without cooking, that is, and I haven’t had the motivation to cook.

So I eyed the rather large bag of Puffed Millet. Whatever recipe I’d gotten it for, I certainly wouldn’t need the whole bag even if I do remember someday what I’d planned to use it for. So I brought some puffed millet in my handy to-go ware, and put some (unsweetened) almond milk in the handy tiffin that fits nicely inside the to-go ware (with the added benefit of making sure the almond milk stays in the tiffin). It was interesting. I did add some sugar, I have to admit. The puffed millet has a mildly nutty taste, and it wasn’t as crisp as I expected (even before the addition of the almond milk). Not a bad thing, just a surprise at first. (My mouth was expecting rice krispies I suppose!) It was cute the way the little puffed balls would cluster when the almond milk was added. All in all, it was pretty tasty, though not as filling as I had hoped. (Or maybe today was just a very hungry day!)

Though not enough for me post-ride on its own (even after my post-ride fruit smoothie), it will likely be a good pre-sanctuary option. I certainly need to get into a good habit of eating before heading to the sanctuary, and this might just do the trick. I love the ingredient list too: organic puffed millet.