Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Daily Archives: February 5, 2009

mid-winter blues: all the good news

I wrote that post last night about fatigue, and I was heartened by the responses. Sometimes it helps just to know that you’re not alone feeling whatever-it-is. And given the time of year, I would not be surprised if this collective fatigue is enhanced by the weather.

Mary tweeted today asking for some good news. And I had some to share! It did us both good, I think, to have a good story shared. That got me thinking about the rescue stories I end up hearing through my work at the sanctuary, and how different it is from what’s in the papers. Not that it is all good (clearly!) but there certainly IS a lot of good. Mary tries periodically to post good news, and so I’m going to try also. I’m hoping that others will share their good news in the comments. Doesn’t have to be “news” as in “an article in the Times”, after all, and that should make it easier to find! I think that kind of thing will do a lot to motivate me, and hopefully the rest of you. We deserve some smiles, in any case.

So the first batch of good news: I heard today that of the 8 former fighting roosters that Gary and I transported to Eastern Shore Chicken Sanctuary, 6 have already been rehabilitated, and are wandering free in the flock. The remaining 2 just need more time. This is usually a process that takes much longer than this, so these roosters are proving exactly what a difference gentle hands can make. I have no doubt that the month they spent at the animal shelter before going to the sanctuary was beneficial, and it makes me smile to know that the shelter really did care about those poor abused roosters, as they seemed to at the time. The roosters have confirmed it for us.

The other good news is that a couple weeks ago 90, yes ninety, hens were rescued from a fighting rooster breeding operation. 90 hens! And they all found homes at sanctuaries in this general region.

You might wonder why 90 hens found homes, when 31 roosters could not. Partially, yes, because of the rehabilitation needed for the roosters (Eastern Shore Chicken Sanctuary is the only sanctuary I know for certain that does this, though I think there is one in Hawaii also), but also because most sanctuaries find themselves with more roosters than hens, and that can cause tension. And so it was easier for the sanctuaries to take in the hens, because while it will fill up the available barn space, it will also decrease tension. Happy roosters now that they have girlfriends!

Some other good news, of a more general sort, was shared by Ari in the comments:

Take heart! Every day I meet more and more people who are making the connection between sustainability and a plant-based diet – and I keep seeing people waking up, taking action, starting to engage.

You know, that was something I needed to hear! I spend most of my days at work in a place where I’m more likely to see the Flying Spaghetti Monster than people thinking about sustainability, let alone the rest! I forget sometimes that the whole world isn’t like that.

My other good news story is about Liesel, at Poplar Spring Animal Sanctuary.

A couple months ago, she was attacked by a hawk. One of the workers came around the side of a barn, and saw the hawk on the ground with … something. She assumed the worst and scared the hawk away, and I think it is safe to say that she had a major freak out when she saw it was Liesel on the ground. Not that anyone admits to having favorites, but I think Liesel is a favorite of hers.

Liesel had blood coming out of wounds on her head and wasn’t moving. It didn’t look good. Naturally that was a day when Terry and Dave were not at the farm, but a couple of the workers rushed Liesel to the vet…the vet essentially said there was nothing that could be done, and recommended she be put to sleep.

Terry, thankfully, decided to ignore that advice. Liesel was brought home, and into the house. It was a few days before they were sure she was improving, but improve she did. Day by day she got better and better. She became interested in food, but couldn’t stand. Then she was able to stand, but her balance was off, and she’d stumble and fall like a little drunken chicken. Now she’s back with the flock, healed and happy.

Isn’t it amazing what happens when they’re given a chance?

So, good news? Share it!