Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Edward’s Dance of Winter

Edward

It’s that time of year when the peacocks display constantly. To anyone, and everyone, and sometimes just to leaves or blades of grass.

Up until very recently, Edward was obsessed with one of the guinea hens at the sanctuary, Angie. This had been going on for a couple years. She’s mostly indifferent to him, but his devotion has caused a lot of conflict between Edward and the male guinea, Gerald. All the guinea girls are Gerald’s domain, from Gerald’s point of view.

Edward and Irene

Well, this past weekend Edward seemed a lot more interested in Tilly and Cosette, the young turkey girls! And when Irene, a little hen, was nearby, he was happy to display for her also. I moved to a vantage point to catch some of it in pixels, and it was a bit of a comedy at that point. Irene was ignoring Edward and concentrating on looking for food in the grass, so he was coming closer and closer to us both, rattling his tail feathers.

Edward and Tilly

Meanwhile Tilly was very interested in the little Flip video camera I was using (you’ll see in the video!), so she was coming up to me and pecking at the camera. Cosette approached from my other side, pulling at my coat, pulling things out of my camera bag, and finally pulling some of my hair out of the haphazard knot I tie it in.

It was really hard not to laugh! I was trying to hold the video steady all the while this was going on.

We had another visitor to the chicken yard as well. One of the deer who was born on the sanctuary in the spring, who tends to hang around the chicken yard and will walk right into one of the barns to finish off the crumbs of the leftover chicken food, came around while we were working in the chicken barn. I love seeing these sanctuary deer. I like to think that they know they’re safe at the sanctuary. If only they were safe everywhere.

4 responses to “Edward’s Dance of Winter

  1. ☼Illuminary☼ January 9, 2012 at 10:56 pm

    OH! That video is a riot! I especially love when the camera goes up, did you lose your balance?
    21 posts isn’t to shabby, when you consider you also post on your other blog. Whats the combination of the two?
    I also caught up on the post about your princess. I once took an old pillow case and sewed half of it shut with some rice in it. I would heat it in the microwave and leave it on the foot of the bed for my much loved Tiger cat. Even when the heat went out, the rice still retained some of her body heat. Here is hoping Jake gives her some peace and R&R!

    • Deb January 10, 2012 at 7:00 am

      Ha! No, I didn’t lose my balance, Tilly had grabbed the little bag that the Flip comes in, and which I still had around the bottom part of the camera, and she’d yanked, so the whole camera almost went flying!

      I’m sure I have way less posts on the other blog…maybe just five or six? I can’t remember, but it wasn’t much, that’s for sure!

      That’s a good idea with the pillowcase and rice. I don’t have a microwave (my kitchen is seriously small enough that I don’t have room for one!) but I’ll definitely remember that trick in case I ever do have a microwave to use! Jake is…being a bit of a pest to her. I am thinking of closing Tempest into the bedroom for a week or so when I’m at work so she can really get some R&R, but so far she loooooves her heated bed, so that’s good.

  2. Provoked January 11, 2012 at 7:35 pm

    What a magnificent show! Hope you are never too successful at trying hard not to laugh… I think it’s good energy for all the critters around you to experience a hardy ha-ha from a human. Way good for the human too! 😉

    • Deb January 16, 2012 at 5:35 pm

      I promise I was trying to hold back laughter only for the sake of the (dubious) quality of the video! The sanctuary residents definitely experience a lot of mirthful sounds from their human caretakers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

