Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Welcome, 2012

WordPress sent me stats about my blog for 2011 – 21 posts. Not even 2 per month!

I always have the intention of posting at least once a week. I am at the sanctuary every week, after all, and even if it’s just a picture or two, it seems it would be easy enough to accomplish.

I had 15,000 visits in 2011, which doesn’t sound like much (and really isn’t much compared to popular blogs), until you consider those visits were for my measly 21 posts. Though I think I would have had 14,000 visits even without those 21 new posts, since most of those visits were for posts written 4 or more years ago (two of the ones I wrote on Pet Insurance, and the one I wrote on Palm Oil). I don’t know what to think of that, really!

One of the newest arrivals to the sanctuary is a 4-month old calf, named Aggie. She’s very cute, and very sweet, though a little wary of people. She’s happy to approach to see if we have treats, and will lick our hands whether we have treats or not, but she isn’t comfortable with anything other than her nose being touched.

Here’s Terry’s intro to Aggie:

Aggie, our newest rescue, is a young Red short horn calf. She most likely escaped from the livestock auction, because she appeared at a home about a mile from the auction on sale day, as a tiny one month old calf. It seems she followed the railroad tracks to a farm where luckily a kind woman made the efforts to find her a sanctuary home. The local sheriff’s dept. and animal control wanted to take her and sell her for slaughter, but the woman kept her safe for several months until she was tame enough to lead onto a trailer. We picked her up yesterday, and she is very friendly and sweet, she loves to lick people. We can’t wait to introduce her to the other rescued cows, and here she will be able to spend the rest of her life in peace and happiness.

She spent a few days in quarantine, and once she had a clean bill of health she was introduced to the other cows. Cows being cows, it was very low drama. They were curious for a few minutes, and then it was business as usual, and that quickly Aggie was part of their community.

So far I have weekly pictures of hands in her mouth. Ah, as long as I’m entertained by the pictures I am taking, right?

Going back in time one week, I spent Christmas Day at the sanctuary, as usual. As usual there were a lot of volunteers helping out, so it’s a bit of a party, and then we have a little potluck after. The animals all get special treats as well, and below is a video of the goats and sheep getting some popcorn:

Spending the day at the sanctuary is certainly the best possible way to celebrate the day. Every day, in fact.

Really, that’s why I am there every Saturday: to celebrate the lives of these amazing beings.

14 responses to “Welcome, 2012

  1. Sheryl January 2, 2012 at 4:48 pm

    Yes! I like the commitment to weekly posts. Even though I’m there every weekend I don’t see as much as you do. All I see is poop and pigs! 🙂

  2. Deb January 2, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    Ha! Well, I’m a fan of poop too, and I’m pretty lucky that people will bring interesting poops to me to document! lol. I suppose it could be said that we celebrate the lives *and poop* of these amazing beings…

  3. Becky Striepe January 2, 2012 at 5:34 pm

    I totally hear ya on blog commitment issues! If you have a smart phone, you might dig the WordPress app (it’s free!). I just got it a few months ago, and it makes it easy to post photos on the fly. I’ve only used it a few times, but I think that if you got into the habit, it might be an easier way for you to post from the Sanctuary!

    • Deb January 2, 2012 at 5:59 pm

      I have a smart phone, but it’s minimally functional these days! I have to use the computer to do the picture stuff anyway, so I just have to get myself to post in the day or so after I’ve been to the sanctuary. Should be an easy task, all things considered! 😀

  4. mburgan January 2, 2012 at 8:19 pm

    Ideas are easy. Blogging is hard. I’m trying to stay current with two–and still do work and have a life. But those 15k visits are nice, and the photos are always great. So here’s to a prolific 2012!

    • Deb January 2, 2012 at 8:45 pm

      Thanks Michael! It really is much harder than I’d have ever thought to blog regularly, but I’m going to try to at least do posts with just a couple pictures if I can’t find words. My main thing is that I generally have plenty of time, I just don’t make good use of it. I can’t even imagine trying to stay current with two! I think you’re doing a great job with the SF one – I haven’t read the other one yet…should do that soon!

      • michael January 3, 2012 at 9:22 am

        Glad you’re liking AYISF. The other, The History Nerd, had been dormant for a more than a year. Not sure how often I’ll update it. I’ve been trying to get out and take pictures too, but the holidays disrupted my schedule, and now I’m involved with the production of one of my short plays here, so that will eat into the free time for a while, So much to do!

      • Deb January 3, 2012 at 7:26 pm

        Excited to hear about your play being produced there – looks like SF is living up to your hopes on many levels, already. Nice to see. 🙂

  5. Harry January 3, 2012 at 9:33 am

    Hi Deb

    Quality not quantity? Your posts and photographs are always superb. Have a great 2012.

  6. Sandra January 3, 2012 at 3:51 pm

    That’s an amazing shot of that peacock! wow!
    Happy New Year, Deb! I wish you health and happiness in 2012. I am glad we “met.”

    • Deb January 3, 2012 at 7:29 pm

      Thanks Sandra! One of the few times I knew sort of what he’d be doing in advance, so I was somewhat prepared! I have been chuckling at the way it looks like he’s leaping over the barn…if peacocks were about 20ft tall, that is!

      I’m glad we met also! Wishing you health and happiness for 2012 also. 🙂

  7. Provoked January 4, 2012 at 7:31 pm

    I couldn’t help but observe the goats and sheep in the video… Even though there was a nice pile of popcorn at the end of the line – None wanted that spot. Interesting.

    I love watching good people take care of our animal friends – It always gives me hope! Thank you & Happy 2012!

    • Deb January 4, 2012 at 10:25 pm

      The pigs do that too – head toward the stuff that is just coming out of the bag, as opposed to the stuff that has already fallen to the ground. I’m not sure if it’s an attention thing, or what. Humans have the same tendency! And with the sheep, the stuff furthest away has the added attraction of being further from the humans! They’re pretty shy. They did come back around and eat it all up though!

      Happy 2012 to you also!

Leave a Reply

