Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Calendar work = radio silence

I have been meaning to post about the Open House for the past three weeks, I am very excited about how it went, and hearing Colleen talk, etc etc, but I haven’t had time to get a post up because I’ve been working on the 2012 PSAS calendar.

I am surprised every year at how much time it takes. I know, logically, that it will take hours and hours, because I’ve done it before, and yet…it never seems like it should. Or that it will. And yet it does.

And though it’s still just mid-October and you might think I was ahead of the game by getting it done now, I’m actually behind! I use Lulu (a print-on-demand service), and so after I get the draft finalized, I have to order a copy…and wait for it to print and ship…and then I have to make whatever necessary adjustments, order another copy, and only then are we ready to make the big order, which we want in time for the Thanksgiving For The Turkeys event…which is November 19th this year.

So, I’m behind. The first draft should be arriving on Tuesday, and I’m (as always) nervous and excited. I hope (as always) that I don’t hate it, because I kind of don’t have time to do much about it if I do.

The majority of the work on it is done, though, so you can expect a post about the Open House soon. And then I’ll be back to the regular program of irregularly unscheduled posts about the sanctuary.

6 responses to “Calendar work = radio silence

  1. Sandra L. October 17, 2011 at 5:59 pm

    Oh, what adorable bunnies! I am bunny-crazy these days.

    A calendar is a great idea! Thanks for telling me about Lulu–I am thinking of suggesting a calendar as a fund-raiser for our local historical society.

    What software are you using to design the calendar?

  2. Deb October 17, 2011 at 6:56 pm

    Lulu has software built in. You *can* design your own and upload a pdf, but I have no idea about that kind of thing so I’m no help there.

    Calendars don’t make great fund-raisers because they cost a lot to print, but you can’t have the price very high (so there’s no much “profit”) because there’s a lot of competition out there from companies that print a *ton* of calendars and thus keep their prices fairly low…and the number of calendars that most people are going to want is limited because how many calendars can any one person actually use? So they’re sort of an odd item.

    But they can also be fun. The volunteers love the calendars, probably about half of the calendars go to them. They can be pretty good for outreach (which is our real goal with the calendars), and you can customize the “events” and include the fundraisers or specific events for your group, which can also be helpful…of course that means you have to know the dates well in advance!

    We usually sell around 100 max. I’m not great at publicizing or anything like that – most of the calendars are sold at the sanctuary itself – so a clever person could likely increase this number. Our events usually bring in 500 – 1200 people (depending on the event and the year), just as a point of reference…

  3. Claire October 17, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    I love the snuggly bunnies!

    I’m looking forward to your post announcing that the calendars are on sale. I’ll make a post about them on my blog when you do – maybe you’ll sell 102 this year – ha!

  4. Deb October 18, 2011 at 6:14 am

    Thanks Claire! Should be in a week or so that I make the calendars for sale on Lulu. Appreciate your help in spreading the word! Two extra calendars sold is two extra calendars! 😀

  5. Deb October 18, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    The calendar is here and I don’t hate it! Yay! Now for the minor updates…

Leave a Reply

