Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

The Truman Post

Truman, Mr. August in the 2011 PSAS calendar

One of my friends and fellow volunteers, Sheryl, unabashedly plays favorites with the animals at the sanctuary. Truman, one of the younger pigs, is her absolute 100% favorite. She brings him special treats, and boy does he know it! She shows up, and he’s right there, hoping it is another donut day.

She was on vacation recently, and missed two weekends at the sanctuary. “Make sure Trumie gets treats!” she told us. “Do you think he’ll forget me?” she worried.

As if anyone could forget those vegan donuts!

I promised I’d take pictures…and I did, but of course they sat on my hard drive, so they didn’t do Sheryl much good!

So this is a Truman post. And to prove that I really did take pictures of him each weekend, I’ll point out that the pig barn’s roof is being replaced, so you can watch the progress on the roof for proof!

Truman, March 26, 2011

The line dangling down the roof is something the roofers seem to tie themselves to, I assume in case they slip.

4-2-2011

The interesting thing about the roofers being there is that they were afraid of the pigs! And the cows and horses and mules. I’m pretty sure they were completely baffled by us. This past weekend I was taking a bunch of pictures of Truman, and one of the worker kept glancing over.

Perhaps he was read to jump the fence and save me if Truman decided that I was a donut!

Truman 4-2-2011

Truman is such a sweet pig that he doesn’t even pick on the newer, smaller, younger pigs. Pigs form a very strict hierarchy, and when new pigs are introduced there’s always a bit of drama. Low-key drama, but drama nonetheless, while the new pig tries to find where he or she fits in the hierarchy.

The further up the ladder they want to climb, the more drama there is. Some pigs, like Truman and Harley, are content to be low-ranking, and so they just get out of everyone else’s way.

Last weekend I did see Truman nudge one of the three babies away from where he was eating. When I told Dave he said, “you have to tell Sheryl!”

"You're not Sheryl, but maybe you have donuts?"

Truman’s story is fairly unusual. He was bought by some young men for a pig roast. Yet, they couldn’t bring themselves to kill him. Not knowing what else to do, they released him along the C&O Canal. Through one of those odd quirks of fate, Terry heard about this fourth or fifth hand, and so animal control was on the lookout for him before he was even spotted.

Those boys eventually heard that Truman had been rescued, and that he was living safe and sound at the sanctuary. They expressed interest in coming to see him. I’m not sure if they ever did, or how serious they were about it, and if they’ll visit him in the future.

Apparently, though, there’s just something about Truman.

17 responses to “The Truman Post

  1. Sheryl April 5, 2011 at 6:34 pm

    TRUMIE! He’s grown, my little piggy boyfriend. 🙂 Yes, I’m pleased as punch to learn that Trumie nudged a piglet out of his way. I can’t imagine he’ll ever bite anyone, but a nudge is a good thing.

    Thanks for all the Trumie pics. I can’t wait to give him a big hug and a buncha bagels and apples!

  2. Aemac April 5, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    I remember Truman from my visit to the sanctuary, what a sweetie he was. Thanks for the into to him Sheryl. And thanks for all his pics.

  3. NotHoney April 6, 2011 at 7:35 am

    Y’know, I was thinking about this last night – about how Harley and Trumie arrived all alone and most of the pigs arrive in pairs. I think that has something to do with their sort-of ‘loner’ status. Maybe?

    • Deb April 6, 2011 at 9:31 pm

      You could be on to something. Olive came alone, as did several others, and I can’t think of who Olive hangs out with either…but I don’t spend enough time with them to know that kind of thing unless it’s obvious, like with Izzy and Morty. We’ll have to ask Dave and Terry!

  4. Auntie Sue April 6, 2011 at 7:37 am

    What a handsome pig! No wonder he has such a devoted following. I check on him via Sheryl every weekend and if she doesn’t send me a Trumie pic I’m heart-broken! Thanks for filling my 2 weekend void as well!

    • Deb April 6, 2011 at 9:32 pm

      I’m glad I wrote this post – I had no idea I was letting down anyone but Sheryl! 😀 We’ll have to get you out to the sanctuary to see him in person one of these days!

  5. Gena April 6, 2011 at 7:37 am

    Is that poplar springs? My boyfriend and I sponsor the pig Hamlet there!

    • Deb April 6, 2011 at 8:14 am

      Yes, this is at Poplar Spring! So glad to hear you sponsor Hamlet! If you go to any of the psas events, I’m usually working the chicken yard, so come say hello! 🙂

  6. freewheel April 6, 2011 at 9:18 am

    Truman is cute. How did he get his name?

    • Deb April 6, 2011 at 9:32 am

      If I remember correctly, he was named by one of the staff, Melina! I’m not sure why she picked the name, or if it was anything more than just liking the name. I will try to remember to ask her next time I see her, at one of the events, likely. They end up voting on the names, generally, though sometimes anmals will come in already named.

      Have you ever been out there? It is bikeable…a long bike ride, to be sure, but mostly on River, where drivers are used to packs of cyclists on the weekends! Or on the c&o, though that requires a little adventure at the end.

  7. ☼Illuminary☼ April 10, 2011 at 8:14 pm

    wow, thats a wonderful story!
    I wonder was it truman that was in the picture I used for the pig glass piece?
    ~grin~
    that would make it an even cooler story for me!

  8. Deb April 10, 2011 at 8:34 pm

    I think it was Babe in the stained glass piece! I know I asked Terry at the time…I’ll have to check with her again to make sure I remember correctly!

  9. freewheel April 14, 2011 at 8:42 pm

    I haven’t been yet, but I plan to. I’ll probably make it a family trip.

    The naming process must be fun. I keep encouraging my friends at National Geographic to come up with names for the 10 ducklings living there.

  10. Paul April 29, 2011 at 7:31 am

    What a cool story. I’m glad that Trumie was spared from the spit!

  11. Deb May 3, 2011 at 9:00 pm

    Thanks Paul, we’re very happy he was spared also! He’s such a sweetheart, it’s sad to think how close he came, and how many others aren’t as lucky as he is.

    If you ever end up in DC on your meet-blogging-friends travels, let me know if you’d like to head to the sanctuary and meet him in person! 🙂

Leave a Reply

