Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

A tortilla chip post

pinky, twinkle, and elton at psas

did you know that bunnies like to play in the snow?

Tortilla chips are simply vehicles for salsa. And this post is a tortilla chip for the latest Izzy & Morty video salsa. So, a tortilla chip post.

The wind this week has stolen most of my thoughts, so I’m just going to post a few completely random links and pictures and the video.

I read “Just Food: Where Locavores Get It Wrong and How We Can Truly Eat Responsibly” recently, and I posted about it over on Animal Rights & AntiOppression. Well, I posted about part of the book. It’s a bit much for just one post. I might post about the organic agriculture issue later. What I talked about in that particular post was the Locavore issue of Food Miles. And from a sustainability perspective, he decimates the “sustainable meat” argument. If you ever talk to Locavores, go read that post, and then go read his book. Or tell your Locavore friends to read his book.

jason at psas

we got a lot of snow a couple weeks ago!

More on the environmental ammunition side, Mary posted “On Soy, Soybeans and Mixed Messages“, which is a must-read if you’ve ever had a meat eater get on your case about the soy you eat and its connection to rainforest deforestation.

And Sea Shepherd’s “Bob Barker” has the whalers on the run!

edward and the new peacock at psas

Edward and his new buddy are getting along!

A few months ago, a great zine was published by Microcosm called Sick. “Sick collects peoples’ experiences with illness to help establish a collective voice of those impacted by illness within radical/left/DIY communities. The zine is meant to be a resource for those who are living with illness as well as those who have not directly experienced it themselves. Contributors discuss personal experiences as well as topics such as receiving support, providing support, and being an informed patient. These writings are meant to increase understandings of illness and further discussion as well as action towards building communities of care.”

wilbur snuggled in the hay

wilbur shows us how to stay warm when it is cold

As it happens, a friend of mine was one of the contributors, with a great piece on living with migraines. I’ve had a lot of friends who have suffered from migraines, and it has made me very sensitive to a common misuse of the term by people who either don’t understand the difference between a migraine and a headache, or simply want to dramatize their own discomfort by claiming a migraine. That’s the least of it, though, and I found Brittany’s article to be a really good read.

The whole compilation was a good read; I recommend it to everyone.

penelope at psas

penelope's secret smoking habit is revealed!

Avatar is a film that is getting a lot of attention and breaking a lot of records at the box office. It is also, apparently, a recruiting film for eco-terrorists! (Of course Hoot and Charlotte’s Web are both soft-core eco-terrorism films for kids. Good thing we have these eagle-eyed people keeping an eye out for dangerous radical ideas like, say, not completely destroying the earth! That can’t be a good thing. Right?)

And finally, the salsa: 1:33 minutes of Izzy and Morty:

12 responses to “A tortilla chip post

  1. Becky January 6, 2010 at 8:40 am

    Thanks for the links…I’m looking forward to the soy one. I’ve been in a little turmoil about soy in my diet lately, especially the soy/Monsanto connection.

  2. conradvisionquest January 6, 2010 at 10:01 am

    great, now i’m craving chips-n-salsa! wilbur looks so snuggly i wanna curl up in the hay with him…looks like penelope might need an intervention…

  3. b January 6, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    !!!

    I’m going through my RSS reader, all buried in work but procrastinating, and there’s my gal Deb blogging about… pigs, and myself! Wha what!

    I love the whole zine, and not just ’cause I worked on it. Know what’s even cooler? A second one is in the making right now! The call for submissions went out a few days. Lemme know if I should send it over to you in case you know anyone who wants to write about sickness. Solidarity is the stuff. Pain is not.

    I canNOT believe how big Morty and Izzy are. I see the vids every week but somehow this week their growth hit me. Pig noises are my very favorite thing.

    Am so behind on reading the other blog but I’ll be there soon!

  4. Deb January 6, 2010 at 5:59 pm

    @Becky – hope Mary’s post on soy helps!

    @conradvisionquest – I could eat chips and salsa all day long! Wilbur is super cute, and I definitely wanted to snuggle up under the hay when I saw him buried like that!

    @b – I’ve been meaning to blog about “Sick” for ages! That’s great to hear that there’s a second in the making! I definitely look forward to that. I don’t know anyone off the top of my head who wants to write about sickness, but I’ll have it in mind and I’ll let you know if I think of someone!

    Morty and Izzy grow so fast! It seriously amazes me every week, how much they’ve grown in just 7 days.

  5. nothoney January 6, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    Great post! Lots of reading to do, too, thanks for all the good links. Izzy and Morty will be as big as the horses by the time I get out there again!

    s.

  6. Deb January 6, 2010 at 7:50 pm

    @nothoney – they really are growing fast! you’ll be amazed!

    and that reminds me:

    @b – I have several friends who have been through severe illnesses/injuries with their companion animals. (nothoney being one. another friend has a dog with diabetes. another went through a year long recovery period with her dog after he ruptured a disk.) Would that be something that would fit within the “Sick” zine?

  7. The voracious Vegan January 7, 2010 at 6:16 am

    Hooray for tortilla chip posts! I think I need to cuddle Penelope asap, she is gorgeous.

  8. Kristen January 7, 2010 at 9:01 am

    Deb we are going to have to get together so you can give me a photo tutorial…your pictures always come out with the perfect light and perfect focus…I think either I’m doing something wrong or my camera is not working properly…but it gets frustrating that my pics never come out crystal like yours…have you ever thought of submitting some to Nat Geo?? I see pics of farm animals there sometimes in the daily dozen…the one of penelope and the steam is a neat one!

  9. Deb January 7, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    @tvv – penelope would love a good cuddle, especially with all this cold weather! She was shivering a bit – Dave was on his way to bring her a blanket! (She’s one of the older ones.)

    @Kristen – well, keep in mind that I take a lot of pictures, and they’re not all worth keeping or showing to anyone! That’s true of everyone, even the pros say it. One thing I learned with the animal photos is to take pics in what I call burst mode. It has some other official name, but basically where if you hold your finger on the shutter button it will take multiple pictures. They’re always moving, and I figure with multiple frames I’m bound to freeze things one of a bunch of pics! 😀

    Other things you have to play with are the ISO and the aperture. (This is somewhat assuming you are using Av (aperture priority), rather than a program. I don’t know if you can control the ISO yourself if you’re using one of the program settings.)

    Some of it is just getting used to the camera and how to get what you want from it. Best thing to do is just keep taking lots of pictures and figuring out how to make it work for you! Doesn’t hurt to read our camera manuals also. Something that almost no one does! (I’m guilty of this myself!)

  10. Kristen January 10, 2010 at 10:34 am

    Hey Deb, I just saw Avatar yesterday…and after seeing the movie got in my car and just cried. It was amazing! I truly hope that the enviro message does not get lost in all the amazing special effects. My favorite line is when the main character was telling the Na’vi that we have killed our Mother Earth, there is no green left…what scares me the most is that by that time 2154, that will probably come true…sighs, even though I won’t be around then it still breaks my heart to think about that ever happening…hopefully my soul will be sent to a place like Pandora when I die 😉 I’d much rather live there, apart of the Na’vi…

    On another note, they very much reminded me of many Native American cultures…so I can’t say that all humans are bad…some actually had (have) the right idea…unfortunately euros came in, took over and killed it…

  11. Deb January 13, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    @Kristen – I’d be surprised if it took until 2154 for us to kill off Mother Earth. Think about the ever increasing rate of destruction, the still growing population, and it just seems impossible. I hope the enviro message doesn’t get lost too. I think for a lot of people it’s just the classic storyline with cool special effects, but as we know there are a lot of people determined to be environmentalists only so far as it doesn’t require them to change anything in their own lives. Always someone else’s problem, right? ::sigh::

    Oh well, glad you liked the movie so much!

  12. Kristen January 14, 2010 at 1:53 pm

    Yeah Deb I agree with you on that one…I don’t think mother nature is going to last much longer…although she could come up with some super virus that wipes out most of the population?

    I totally feel like this is my pandora and I’m tired of people cutting down my f*ing trees! everytime I see someone eating steak, I’m like there goes another tree in the rainforest…it totally sucks!

    While I am no where near perfect (that would mean me living in a grass hut somewhere, with no electricity, cell phone, computer, etc) I definitely do my research and try every day, month, year to make my footprint lighter…

Leave a Reply

