Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Poplar Spring benefit at Stickyfingers Bakery! 12/5/09 12pm – 5pm

A few weeks ago Terry asked me if I’d be willing to table for the sanctuary at Stickyfingers Bakery. I about fell over myself in my haste to assure her that it would be no problem.

Far from a problem, it’s something I’ve been looking forward to ever since. Even though Stickyfingers, DC’s vegan bakery, is not far from where I live, I find that I rarely go. So the thought of sitting there for five hours is great; I’m sure I’ll manage to nibble on a treat or ten and even though I’ll technically be there to table, and encourage people to sponsor Poplar Spring Animal Sanctuary residents, I’ll have a lot of time to plan all the things I’ll buy on my way out!

Stickyfingers is also offering an incentive for people who sponsor an animal – they’ll have coupons for me to give out to those who sponsor, giving them 10% off of their next purchase of $25 or more.

This is very generous of Stickyfingers, and I think it will be a lot of fun. Tabling for an animal sanctuary in a vegan bakery is about as easy as it gets!

Now, here’s hoping that the snow they’re predicting puts people in a generous mood, instead of keeping them at home!

Hope to see you there!

7 responses to “Poplar Spring benefit at Stickyfingers Bakery! 12/5/09 12pm – 5pm

  1. JimMassUSA December 4, 2009 at 7:37 pm

    Oh my … sounds like pure torture … I hope you manage to survive … poor baby!

  2. Deb December 4, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    I know! It’s going to be tough figuring out how much food I can fit in my stomach in a mere five hours! 😀

  3. nothoney December 4, 2009 at 9:38 pm

    If they have the hot “wings,” GET THEM. The ranch dressing is heavenly.

    s.

  4. Deb December 5, 2009 at 7:38 am

    @nothoney – thanks for the recommendation! I have a friend from nyc with me, and I’m sure he’ll be *very* interested in testing them against the NYC wings!

    @kelly – my stomach is already growling! 😀

  5. fightingwindmills December 7, 2009 at 7:54 am

    Sounds like a nice afternoon. I hope it went well for you!

  6. Deb December 7, 2009 at 9:16 pm

    Thanks FW, it was a lot of fun, and it seemed to go really well. Had some great conversations, and then some really really great food! I brought home a LOT! lol.

Leave a Reply

