Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Barrel Oak Winery: In Memory of Mina

A friend and fellow sanctuary volunteer recently lost her beloved canine companion, Mina, after a long battle with cancer. Needless to say, Sheryl is absolutely devastated.

Despite feeling lost and adrift, Sheryl is determined to honor Mina’s memory and the huge influence on her life by working hard for all the other animals out there. As Sheryl said:

Mina protected me and loved me and took care of me for 13 years. I can never repay her for all that she’s given me, so I want to spend the rest of my life doing whatever I can for non-human animals to honor Mina’s life. This is a nice start.

And so a fund-raising idea was formed. Sheryl and Mina were often visitors at Barrel Oak Winery, and became good friends of the folks there too. After Mina died, BOW was more than willing to help put on a fund-raising event that would benefit Poplar Spring Animal Sanctuary.

BOW is in Delaplane, VA, which is about an hour from DC. It’s a dog-friendly venue, too! Here’s what Sheryl has to say about it:

People hang out by the dozens. Mina loved going there because dogs are totally welcome and she loved meeting everyone. The tasting room is huge, the floors are made of wood from an old barn, it’s heated and cooled with a geothermal system, and there are tables and chairs and a loft with more tables and chairs.

The event will take place on Sunday December 13th from 2-5pm. The winery will donate 10% from the BOW white and red as well as the sangria sales to Poplar Spring Animal Sanctuary.

I can’t think of a more beautiful way to honor the memory of a beloved, than to dedicate yourself to helping others. And going to a gorgeous winery is certainly no hardship for those of us who want to support Sheryl and Poplar Spring Animal Sanctuary, and do it all in memory of Mina.

10 responses to “Barrel Oak Winery: In Memory of Mina

  1. nothoney December 2, 2009 at 8:06 am

    Deb, this is beautiful. I can’t top this post!

    Look at my sweet baby girl … She’d lost her muzzle hair, some hair off her legs and her body to chemo, but she’s still beautiful. I miss her more with every passing day. Mina was my life, my love, my rock.

    Please, if you’re in the National Capital Area, come to BOW on Sunday, December 13 and help us celebrate Mina’s life by raising funds for the animals at Poplar Spring.

    Thank you so much.

    s.

  2. Pingback: In Memory of Mina, a Fund Raiser at Barrel Oak Winery « It's OK to Talk About the Cancer

  3. Mindy December 2, 2009 at 10:49 am

    What a wonderful idea! Mina was such an adorable little girl!

  4. Sorrow December 2, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    So are you going DEB? Thats a long bike ride!
    Sounds like fun, all I have to do is find someone to drive me…

  5. Deb December 2, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    @Sheryl – she was as beautiful in spirit as she was photogenic! πŸ™‚

    @Mindy – I agree, and I’m very happy to live close enough to go to the winery!

    @Sorrow – yes, I’m going! I will drive there though, it would take all day and then some otherwise! Hope you can find someone to drive you! I’d love to see you there! πŸ™‚ And, perhaps, a pup or two?

  6. kelly g. December 2, 2009 at 8:16 pm

    What a lovely tribute for a lovely girl.

  7. Pingback: A Reset Button, a Do-over, a Deal, Something! « It's OK to Talk About the Cancer

  8. beforewisdom December 5, 2009 at 10:54 am

    Are Barrel Oak Winery wines vegan?

  9. Deb December 6, 2009 at 8:06 am

    I think Sheryl contacted you directly with this info.

    I’ll raise you the wine question and ask you if you drink cranberry juice!

  10. Pingback: Paws for the Cause: Fundraiser for the Gulf Coast « Invisible Voices

Leave a Reply

