Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Oh, how they grow! Morty and Izzy, week 8…

I’m giving Vimeo a try this week. One frustrating aspect, for me, with YouTube is that if I try to use music to cover up any conversation that’s going on (people are funny about that kind of thing!), then YouTube sends me an ominous warning. So what’s a girl to do?

Use Vimeo, I think.

I believe that Vimeo doesn’t play in mobile browsers? Or maybe plays in some of them, but not all? My apologies if you are unable to watch on your particular device. Perhaps I’ll get more of this figured out at some point…

Izzy is growing so fast now. He’s actually looking chubby! He’s still significantly smaller than Morty, but the difference seems to be less and less every week. And, as you can see in the video when they’re rough housing, Izzy is of the mindset that he’s “small but mighty”, and he gives as good as he gets from his bigger (if younger) brother.

21 responses to “Oh, how they grow! Morty and Izzy, week 8…

  1. The voracious Vegan November 14, 2009 at 11:56 pm

    The cuteness! The CUTENESS! I can’t handle it! Thank you for posting this and putting a big smile on my face first thing in the morning.

  2. Deb November 15, 2009 at 7:54 am

    @tvv – glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

  3. Mary Martin November 15, 2009 at 9:23 am

    They’re so big now! And they certainly look like they’re having fun!

    And it’s a relief to see someone else has a Vimeo problem. I think Vimeo and Typepad have some kind of feud. I post and save and preview and see the video sometimes, and other times–during the same posting session!–all I see is that funky swirling logo thing. It’s maddening!

  4. Ron Kearns November 15, 2009 at 11:36 am

    The video is of very high Q. However, the music, not so much…(insert smiley emoticon here to forestall my IP’s blog banishment).

    How ’bout some ‘Green Acres’, or ‘Hee Haw’ musack for these ‘Animal Farm’, barnyard shuffles? ‘Ol Hank, Gene, or Lefty et al. would work; but please, no Rap!

    However, I guess one should never look gift piglets in the mouth.

    Thanks Deb.

  5. Deb November 15, 2009 at 6:50 pm

    @Mary – life is full of fun and joy for them, no doubt about it!

    @Ron – lol. I figured the music would not be to people’s taste! But, alas there is a mute button/volume control. I should have made the effort to use classical music, perhaps. I wish I knew how to leave it be with no sound at all. I was tempted to leave it with our voices, but I think I’d have had a mutiny on my hands if I left my fellow volunteer singing “break on through to the other side” on it! 😀

    I am limited to what I have on my computer in the correct format, and most of my music is on my *other* computer, so it is a very limited selection! None of your requests are available. 😉

    But what you say is true – we shouldn’t look piglets in the mouth, at least not with our cameras, because they’re bound to get the lenses muddy!

  6. vegatee November 18, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    I could just squish those wiggly little bodies!!!! 😀

  7. Marina November 18, 2009 at 3:52 pm

    The size discrepancy is so visible! I can’t stand how cute they are!!! 😀

  8. Deb November 18, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    @vegatee – they’re the cutest, aren’t they?

    @Marina – isn’t it amazing that there’s such a size difference? You’d think they were weeks apart instead of hours. (And Izzy is the older one anyway!)

  9. JimMassUSA November 22, 2009 at 8:01 am

    I can’t play Vimeo … dagnabbit … :-{

  10. Deb November 22, 2009 at 8:22 am

    Jim, are you using a portable device? Or a specific browser? I don’t know much about vimeo at this point, though I have read that iPhone support will be coming soon!

    I will have another video today sometime, and I’ll see what I can do about getting that one on youtube. Might be a shorter version of what I put on vimeo, but you’ll still get to see the boys. They had a big day yesterday, as it was the big annual vegan thanksgiving potluck, and they were with us most of the day, eating, charming everyone! 🙂

  11. JimMassUSA November 22, 2009 at 9:19 am

    I’m using a Dell laptop running IE-8.
    I like the “barnyard” sounds, myself, though I haven’t heard a version with music!

  12. veganprimate November 22, 2009 at 11:09 pm

    They are so cute, but I’m almost afraid of what’s to come when they get bigger and bigger and won’t be able to frolic like they do now. 😦

    Animal agriculture sucks!

  13. Deb November 23, 2009 at 5:51 am

    @Jim – as far as I know, there are no known issues with viewing vimeo videos other than with mobile devices. But I am using Firefox, so I can’t be sure that IE8 doesn’t have issues.

    @veganprimate – what are you talking about?

  14. veganprimate November 23, 2009 at 9:26 am

    “@veganprimate – what are you talking about?”

    I’ve never been to a farm sanctuary before, but from listening to Colleen’s podcast, she says that people are really shocked when they see animals at sanctuaries, because they are HUGE. Farm animals are bred so that they reach slaughter weight at 6 months, when they’re still quite young and have more growing to do. So, when they reach adulthood, they are hideously big, and in the case of animals like turkeys who are bred to have really large breasts, they look misshapen and can barely walk properly.

    So, I’m worried that these cute piglets will be so big they won’t be able to walk around very well.

  15. Deb November 23, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    @veganprimate – gotcha.

    It’s definitely true that the majority of animals raised for profit or entertainment have had their genetics manipulated to some degree, and it’s never to benefit the animals themselves. It is most extreme in some of the birds – the broiler chickens and the turkeys – but it’s also really obvious with the dairy cows. When people come and see the male Holsteins (the sort of classic black and white dairy cow) they’re astounded. “I’ve never seen a cow so large”, they say, and they’re right. They’ve never seen a male dairy cow before, for obvious reasons, and one of the side effects of the genetic manipulation in the dairy industry is for larger cows so they produce more milk. The larger size isn’t as extreme in the females, but the males stand over 6′ at the shoulder!

    The pigs do get quite large, but keep in mind when the farmers get them to slaughter weight in 6 months, it’s because they’re feeding them a ton, and not allowing them to get any exercise. Unfortunately many sanctuaries do free feeding also; I don’t know about you, but if I free fed my older cat, she’d be huge, and as it is I constantly struggle to keep her weight at a reasonable weight (and she’s always overweight, just not as extreme as it could be). It’s no different for most animals. Aside from that, pigs are simply large – I think 600lbs is normal for them.

    Poplar Spring does controlled feeding, so their pigs do not get large to the point that they can’t move. I have been to several sanctuaries, and I remember when I saw the ones at PSAS just a few months after seeing pigs at a different sanctuary, I asked if they were a different breed from the ones I’d seen at other sanctuaries, because they looked so different. I was shocked at the answer; not only were they the same breed, they were the same age, from the same exact rescue (in certain cases) – the same truck, the same day. At PSAS they were mobile (you should see them all running to get pumpkins!), and it was harder to tell who was 10 years old and who was 2 years old. At the other sanctuary I felt like crying when I watched them struggle to try to sit up, let alone stand. It’s remarkable, really, but it makes sense. By making sure the pigs don’t get morbidly obese at PSAS, they’re making it easier for the pigs to stay mobile, and their joints stay healthier for longer. It all ends up being tied together.

    That being said, the pigs do all start to suffer from arthritis as they get older. This is controlled pretty well with meds, and they seem to remain comfortable and mobile right into their elderly years. When they just can’t move around well enough to remain in the main pig area, they are moved permanently to the “infirmary” section of the pig barn, where they are spoiled and pampered for the rest of their days.

    Izzy and Morty are a slightly different breed – I can’t remember what versus what – and Terry says they’ll be somewhat smaller. I don’t know how this will impact them in terms of arthritis in their later years, but regardless, it’s not something they’ll have to worry about for a good long while – not for a decade, I’d guess. Other things could impact their health, and there is very little information available with regards to these runt piglets. There’s more info among people who raise pot bellied pigs, and that’s the information Terry and Dave have had to use when figuring out how to take care of these little guys (especially in the very early days). So, for Izzy and Morty specifically, there are a lot of unknowns. But extreme obesity is not likely to be one of their issues.

    I’d assume that Colleen has only been to sanctuaries who do the free feeding of the pigs, and that’s what she’s referring to with her comments. It is heartbreaking to see, and I’m really glad that PSAS takes a different approach. (I’m sure PSAS isn’t the only one doing controlled feeding, but my knowledge in this area is limited to just a few sanctuaries.)

  16. Gary November 23, 2009 at 8:34 pm

    I thought I saw Izzy employing the Mohammed Ali rope-a-dope strategy. Well-played, Izzy. 🙂

  17. Deb November 23, 2009 at 8:41 pm

    lol. I have to get the latest video up! (Though you might have seen it on twitter or FB already.) They were so cute on Saturday, charming the crowds. (Or, snarfing up all the food, however you interpret it! lol)

  18. JimMassUSA November 23, 2009 at 11:36 pm

    Deb …

    I tried Firefox and no joy!

    Vimeo must use that Apple thingy!

    ~Jim

  19. veganprimate November 24, 2009 at 6:32 am

    Deb…that’s great about them not doing the free feeding thing. I have two cats. One would do great with free feeding, and the other one would eat until she literally exploded.

  20. kelly g. November 24, 2009 at 7:33 pm

    OMG, the cuteness! If there’s anything cuter than playful piglets, it’s playful piglets playing in the mud!

  21. Deb November 24, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    @Jim – I’m stumped! Wish I could help you!

    @veganprimate – I think my cat would be the same way! The older one, anyway. The baby is only 6 months old, so I don’t know about him yet!

    @kelly – just when you think they can’t top the cuteness, right? lol.

Leave a Reply

