Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Goodreads: Vegan Book Club

For all the reading I do I’ve never been in a book club until now. Maybe it’s the introvert thing! I joined a Vegan Book Club online, though, and I will be interested to see what it is like. It has only just started, so the members are in the process of getting our hands on and reading the first book. First up is Jonathan Foer’s “Eating Animals”, and second will be Gary Francione’s “Intro to Animal Rights”. Books are chosen by member vote, and we’ll be reading about one book per month.

Many of the suggested books are ones I’ve had on my mental “to-read” list for a long time. Like Carol Adams books! I don’t know what we’ll read after “Intro”; that’s yet to be decided on. I do hope that being part of this book club helps motivate me to read some of the books I’ve been meaning to read for ages, as well as some I might not have put on my list, but which will likely be helpful to have read.

“Eating Animals” is one of those books I likely wouldn’t have read on my own. You can read Mary’s review, where she breaks down what the book is and isn’t. It will be frustrating to read, I think, because he doesn’t make the obvious step towards veganism (and you can read Mary’s lament for more on that!), and yet this is a book that is getting a lot of attention, is being read by a lot of people.

This post isn’t about the book, however, because I haven’t read it yet. Mostly I wanted to mention the book club in case any of my friends-who-read-and-also-read-this-blog would be interested but hadn’t heard about it already.

9 responses to “Goodreads: Vegan Book Club

  1. Laura Jill Steinig November 12, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    Oooh, I’m so glad you posted this! I love book clubs and I’m a vegan, so YAY! I’ve read Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, and though it was odd, I definitely enjoyed it.

  2. The voracious Vegan November 13, 2009 at 7:07 am

    A vegan book club, that sounds great!

    (I feel the same way about Eating Animals, if it is so bad, why not push for veganism???)

  3. b November 13, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    I might join with the caveat that I can only read certain books that I either wrangle from publicists (which isn’t too tough for me as a writer thankfully), ones I already own & haven’t yet read, or the ones I can occasionally find over here. The last part of that is the tough one, but as much as I generally loathe the idea of book clubs, this sounds *really* cool. As to why I hate book clubs, I’m apparently too much of an introvert to like conversing about what I read, which I deem a solitary act! LOL! 😉

  4. Deb November 13, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    @Laura – I saw that you joined! I’m glad I posted about it, even though i wasn’t sure that anyone reading this wouldn’t already know about it! 🙂

    @tvv – I haven’t kept up with that much of the online chatter with regards to Foer, but if what I have read is correct, then it sounds like he *might* be in the process of going vegan. Like writing the book was perhaps part of his transition. I’m not sure if that’s accurate or not, but after I read the book I’m going to go back and read/listen to some interviews that people keep referencing, because I seem to recall that someone interviewing him came right out and asked “why aren’t you vegan?” And if he does go vegan eventually, hopefully he will (as a reader of Mary’s blog emailed her) come out with a sequel “Not Eating Animals”!

    But yes, I’m hoping the book club will be fun!

    @b – any luck with ebooks? Not sure if there are issues depending on the laws in different countries or not, but the ebooks might be an easier/cheaper option if you have to purchase a book?

    My main goal in joining the book club was to push myself a bit, to get some of the books on my to-read list read, and to read some books I might otherwise not have bothered to read. But, like you, I’m not entirely convinced that I want to actually talk about the books I’ve read in a book club setting! And there’s nothing that says we have to participate in the conversations. We’ll see how it goes; I don’t really know what to expect, because I haven’t ever joined a book club before! But even if I don’t participate in the conversation, I think that reading and considering what everyone else says will still be worthwhile. Not that you have to formally join the book club to do either of those things!

  5. b November 15, 2009 at 5:17 am

    Yeah, I may lurk for a while. I’m really not interested in reading Eating Animals and am honestly a little put off by it as the first choice. I know we gotta be inclusive and all that jazz, but EA is one of those books I’m not wholly convinced I need to read to be able to deconstruct. I have very little patience for white dudes who think they came up with something brand new when a lot of us have been thinking this stuff for years and years (not to mention the folks who were anti-speciesiest centuries ago). You’ll have to let me know what you think though 🙂

  6. Deb November 15, 2009 at 7:47 am

    I don’t think it’s all that significant that EA was the first book selected to read. And given the number of choices we had, it won with, I think, a whopping 7 votes! (Out of almost 50 members.) Mostly I think it had that much interest because it is getting so much attention right now.

    I haven’t read other books of this type (the pollan books, etc) so it’s a new experience for me.

    And it’s true, I could just look at what others have written about it and I would have been fine with their deconstructions of the book, but, again, if I wasn’t interested in being pushed to read books I likely otherwise wouldn’t have, then I wouldn’t have joined a book club. 🙂

    So far it’s both better and worse than what I expected. I’m only 1/5 done, so we’ll see. It’s a quick read, has that going for it!

  7. Mary Martin November 15, 2009 at 9:28 am

    Thanks for the mention! My lament has not gone over well at all, but alas, I stand by it.

    And if anyone wants the books mentioned, I will send them to you as I own them and have more than my share of books!

    Deb–you in a book club–I love it. Living on the edge…

    🙂

  8. Elaine Vigneault November 17, 2009 at 11:43 am

    I joined the group. My understanding was that club members could choose which book, either: Jonathan Safran Foer’s “Eating Animals” or Gary Francione’s “Intro to Animal Rights” as the first book.

  9. Deb November 17, 2009 at 9:05 pm

    There have been some changes since then. As it stands now, 1st book = Foer, 2nd book = Francione.

Leave a Reply

