Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

7th week of Izzy-Morty cuteness

As cute as the little piglets were when they first arrived at the sanctuary, I enjoy them more each week. To see them grow and develop, to see their personalities emerge, it’s very rewarding.

I saw them meet some of the young adult pigs through the fence. Izzy and Morty are too young to go into the pig yard, but they’re all very curious about each other. Especially the young adult pigs.

They clearly think of Terry as their mom, and so they tried to be wherever we are. They’d follow our voices to find Terry. This meant that they had to be put in their stall in the chicken barn when we let the horses out, so that they weren’t in danger of being trampled. After we were doing the chicken barn chores, however, they were let back out. And we had an overload of cuteness. They’re about the size of most of the chickens, though of course they weigh much much more. Even little as they are, they’re solid.

As we indulged in watching them root around the outside of the chicken barn after the chores were done, Terry remarked that because they’d both come to the sanctuary on the day they were born, they’ve never known anything but love.

It’s remarkable, when you think about it.

I also learned that usually they have their tails cut, ears notched, and their teeth cut on their first day of life. No pain killer, of course, no anesthetic. Not that either of those would make the mutilation okay, but the lack of it makes it that much more horrifying to think about.

My piglet video this week is longer, as requested! There was better video opportunity this week, and I also made sure to let the video run longer to satisfy those who can’t get enough of the cute little guys. You’ll notice when they’re in the chicken yard what they’re doing to the grass growing around the chicken barn. If you’ve ever wondered, from pictures taken in the main pig yard, why there is no grass growing there, I think that Morty and Izzy demonstrate exactly why that is!

8 responses to “7th week of Izzy-Morty cuteness

  1. Sorrow November 8, 2009 at 7:30 pm

    My little one calls all pigs BABE, now where does that come from I wonder?
    ~laughing~
    we have many pig farmers around here, and to be honest, They do not have there tails cut nor those nasty nose ring things.
    What cuties!

  2. Deb November 8, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    We had a pig come in from a local farm with one of those horrible nose rings. It was so sad. She was under anesthesia for something else when they removed the nose ring, and even then she screamed in pain when it was removed. It was so nasty looking.

    I’d have a really hard time living near farmers, even if they didn’t do *all* of the nasty things; I’d never be able to forget that they were in the business of killing others for their bodies, and it would make me so sad any time I saw those animals doomed to live only a few months before being killed. I remember seeing a truck load of young cows being carted off to their death when I was in Argentina on a bus one night. I just cried and cried, and was thankful I had long hair to hide my tears.

  3. Lizzie November 9, 2009 at 11:18 am

    I love their cute little butts with their wiggly tails! This was a great video. I so enjoyed (and felt jealous of your time there!) just watching the piggies, turkeys, and chickens doing their thing. How anyone could watch something like this and continue to eat these beautiful beings is beyond me… (I started following you for Vegan MoFo, and your blog has become a favorite – love all the news from the sanctuary! :])

  4. Deb November 9, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    Lizzie – their wiggly tails are so funny! Izzy, the little one, when he runs, his tail goes in big circles, like he’s trying to use it to gain momentum! lol. adorable.

    Glad you found me through the Vegan MoFo! Writing so much about food was a stretch for me, but I know most people really just want to hear about the sanctuary anyway. πŸ™‚

    I think the sanctuary is a really powerful outreach tool, precisely because for many people, when they meet these animals, and interact with them, they suddenly realize what it means to eat animal products. Terry says some people have gone vegan right then. That’s not everyone, of course, but seeing these beautiful individuals as the feeling, sentient, life-loving individuals that they are is pretty important.

    If you’re ever in the DC area, you’ll have to get out to the sanctuary for a visit! It’s even better in person. πŸ™‚

  5. Ron Kearns November 9, 2009 at 10:03 pm

    M & I reminded me of an old western song: Root Hog, Or Die.

    Deb, thanks for the chronicled videolog of these interesting critters. They’re bound to get into some humorous trouble at some stage.

  6. Deb November 10, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    @Ron – glad you’re enjoying the weekly videos! I think you’re right – they’re so curious and active, they’re bound to get into some escapades!

  7. kelly g. November 24, 2009 at 7:21 pm

    Yay, more Izzy & Morty! I think their cuteness is multiplied next to the big guys. Not that the adult pigs aren’t adorable too, it’s just…different. Izzy & Morty are baby cute; there’s no competing with baby cute. (Meh, maybe I’m more maternal than I thought.)

    BTW, Izzy – his coloring makes him look like he’s wearing pants, complete with a waistband and everything! I’d never quite noticed that before. So cute!

  8. Deb November 24, 2009 at 8:25 pm

    @kelly – yup, we’re all suckers for the cute babies! πŸ™‚

    Izzy’s coloring is so funny, the way there’s that blended zone between the two different colors! It does make him look like he has a waistband! lol. It will be interesting to see if that changes at all as he grows up!

Leave a Reply

