Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Carob Molasses Cake

veganmofo2009

A year ago, miranda chelala left me an interesting sounding recipe in the comments of my “If you had carob molasses” post.

Hi all you carob molasses lovers. Yes I live in Beirut so carob molasses is plentiful and used daily as a dip at breakfast or in the afternoon as a snack. You mix tahine (sesame seed paste) with the molasses in a small bowl and use pitta bread to dip and eat. Yummy. You can also make a cake with carob molasses. Here is the recipe

2cups cake flour
2 cups semolina
1 cup corn oil
11/2 cups carob molasses
21/2 teaspoons baking powder

Heat oven to 300 F or 180 C . Place dry ingredients in a bowl mix togther. Add oil and molasses. Mix well. Use our hands its perfect. Prepare a round cake tin by lining with greaseproof paper and smoothing some tahina over the paper . Put the mixture into the tin smooth the top with wet hands and bake for approx. 20 mins on 300F or 180 C or until it is cooked. Cut into small squares once cooled. Absolutely wonderful and so easy to make. No sugar, no eggs, no butter. It’s good for you . Enjoy

I made it tonight, and I’m hooked. I used white spelt flour, because I didn’t remember to get All Purpose flour last time I was at the grocery store, but I don’t think it had any impact. Or maybe it did. See, the 20 minutes was a lot more like 1 hour 20 minutes for me. Maybe it was done before then – it is a very dense fudgy cake, so it’s possible that I was over cooking it. Or maybe it was actually too low of heat, but … I think that the long cook time at a relatively low (for a cake) heat worked out well. Maybe someone with more cooking / baking knowledge can weigh in here!

It is rich and dense and just as moist as you’d expect with a cup (a cup!) of oil in it, and yet it has a nice crispy top. The flavor is earthy and a little (but not overwhelmingly) carob-y. It’s nothing like the fluffy frosted cakes that we tend to have in this country. It’s not a cake that you have huge servings of. It is almost-not-sweet, and yet it is, actually, sweet. Sweet in a way that is not from sugar.

It’s hard for me to describe adequately. It’s something of an addictive surprise, much the way the Dibis Bi Tahina was. So maybe it’s the carob molasses I love most of all.

I love that it is such a simple cake, and that it is fairly fail proof. (I think I proved that!) I love that it’s not at all the typical cake, though I know it would not appeal to everyone. For instance, someone recently told me in detail how much they hated molasses. This is not a cake for that person!

However, for those with a fondness for molasses and a liking of carob, give this cake a try.

And then tell me what dishes you’d serve at a dinner that would be followed by this cake!

3 responses to “Carob Molasses Cake

  1. The voracious Vegan October 31, 2009 at 8:31 am

    I will definitely have to make this, it looks simple and delicious. That picture has me drooling.

  2. nothoney October 31, 2009 at 6:02 pm

    Ah, cake flour is a separate beast from all-purpose flour. King Arthur makes a good cake flour. I think it has more protein and makes a lighter cake. Looks like a big brownie!

    s.

  3. Deb October 31, 2009 at 8:37 pm

    @tvv – using the proper flour (per nothoney) might even make it fluffier. But honestly, I’m not sure about that. There’s little in the cake to make it fluffy. I think it’s meant to be dense, but then again, I’m sort of dense when it comes to baking, and I could be wrong! Either way, the flavor is great, and I hope you enjoy it if you make it! 🙂

    @nothoney – I wondered, but I didn’t have all purpose, let alone cake flour, so I just went with what I had. I think the baking powder needs updating too. But I’m not sure either of those things would make it a fluffy cake. The commenter said to cut small pieces, and it’s such a dense taste that I think the dense texture suits it. But maybe that’s just me! I’m not exactly versed in baking chemistry. Organic, sure, but I hated organic chem labs! 😀

Leave a Reply

