Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

bread!

veganmofo2009

I love bread. I have great memories of my mom baking fresh bread when I was a kid – there is nothing quite like the smell of freshly baked bread!

I often consider getting a bread machine, but my kitchen is so small that I have a hard time justifying taking up room with an appliance dedicated to one task. My condo is so small and lacking in storage, I couldn’t store it elsewhere either. But I might someday be motivated enough to find room for it!

In the meantime, I buy bakery bread at my local organic store.

Bread is one of those amazing things that is just so good in its normal state. Flour, water, yeast, salt. That’s about it. It is beautifully simple. And then the normal packaged bread has to go and ruin it all with a million ingredients that read like a chemistry experiment, and milk (or milk proteins) and honey. So frustrating! Luckily the good bread, the stuff like my mom used to make, is vegan.

No fanfare, just normal.

2 responses to “bread!

  1. sheryl, washington dc October 24, 2009 at 8:25 am

    Make it by hand! I do, all the time. It’s time consuming but very gratifying.

    BTW, I won’t be back to the Sanctuary for a while. Mina is declining, having trouble breathing because her mandibular and mediastinal lymph nodes are so large they’re restricting her air passage. She started a low dose of Prednisone yesterday to try and shrink these nodes, but it’s pretty clear she’s not feeling well. I keep Terry posted, so hoping she shares the news.

    s.

  2. Deb October 26, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    I never seem to be especially happy with what I make by hand! Do you have any favorite recipes?

    Terry did mention on Saturday that Mina hadn’t been feeling well. I am so sorry to hear that. 😦

Leave a Reply

