Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Autumn Spice Pumpkin Cookies (and a confession)

veganmofo2009

A couple weeks ago, The Voracious Vegan posted a recipe she’d come up with for Autumn Spice Pumpkin Cookies. I vowed to make them.

And for once I actually followed through on that kind of vow. Of course my grocery store was out of the plain canned pumpkin, so I got the pumpkin with spices already added, and guessed at how much extra to add based on her recipe. I’m not very good at figuring those things out, but the cookies came out great despite me!

This leads to my confession. Acting on some sort of weird whim, no doubt brought about by the fact that I got up at 3am this morning because I had to be at work by 5:30am and was thus home by 2:30pm, sleep-deprived and deliriously happy to be home for the gorgeous late-afternoon sunlight, I decided to make the recipe again with some substitutions.

Why change it? Her recipe calls for vegetable shortening, which meant Earth Balance Shortening for me. I have been boycotting (as best I can) palm oil for a while now, but I still have some EB (buttery spread, sticks, and shortening; I just stopped using what I had, and it must have a shelf-life of near infinity) hanging around, so I used up some of what was left. And the cookies turned out great. But if they’re to remain part of my life, the shortening needs to be subbed.

And then I started thinking about friends who try to go really low-fat for various reasons, such as helping to control RA via McDougall.

Long story short, I decided to sub applesauce for the shortening. And then half of the oil. I also decided to use white spelt flour (extravagance!) because I was running low on the All-Purpose stuff anyway. And then I ran low on brown sugar, so I used raw sugar to make up for it.

When I started making the balls of dough, it was very sticky. So I made a few of the balls, and then added more of the white spelt flour to what was left in the bowl. And it was still very sticky, so after a few of those balls, I added more.

At this point I didn’t even care that much about what I was doing to a tasty recipe, I was in experiment mode. It would have all been scientific and interesting if I’d done even a half-assed job of measuring or remembering what I was doing or trying to figure out, but I lost sight of such lofty goals! I just wanted to get the damn things in the oven so I could stop having sticky hands!

I cooked them a couple extra minutes longer; I had a feeling they’d need it.

The result? Something between a cake-cookie and a muffin. Or a cookie-ish scone. I don’t know, they’re tasty enough, but probably not something anyone would make on purpose!

And this, my friends, is why I stick to recipes that other people have made up!

6 responses to “Autumn Spice Pumpkin Cookies (and a confession)

  1. The voracious Vegan October 21, 2009 at 3:06 am

    Aww I’m glad you liked my cookies! I am intrigued by the changes you made to the recipe, it sounds like you were onto a really good thing! The way you describe them I think that I would definitely like them.

    Your pictures are just amazing, you are really talented with that camera!

  2. jenitreehugger October 21, 2009 at 7:22 am

    They both look great. I love it when I’m in experimenting mode and I always forget to write down what I did.
    DOH!

  3. Marina October 21, 2009 at 7:24 am

    Thank you for my morning giggle. 🙂

  4. Deb October 21, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    @tvv – thanks on the pictures compliment. truthfully, i’m a lot better behind the camera than I am fiddling with recipes! but i have always struggled with food pictures, but I must have learned enough in this past year to have figured out a bit more. Animals are just so much easier for me! 😀

    I think that there is some good potential for my changes, especially if you’re in the market for a soft and sort of fluffy (sort of light and dense at the same time) cookie. But I am betting that someone else could do a better job than I could to fiddle with the recipe! They do still taste great, so at least I didn’t mess up that part of it! lol.

    @jenitreehugger – for the most part my experiments aren’t worth keeping in any case! no need for written instructions on how to destroy a cookie recipe. lol. it is fun though to wing it sometimes; this works out best when you aren’t worried about having to serve it to anyone else. I think I do learn a bit more too, about what things should look like/feel like, and the effects of doing different things.

    @Marina – glad I could give you a giggle! I got a good laugh out of it. Lucky for me, both sets of cookies are quite edible! Not that I’d serve my version to anyone but me, but still, I’ve definitely done worse! 😀

  5. Veronica October 4, 2012 at 5:58 pm

    Do you happen to still have this recipe? I found it on the Voracious Eats blog, made it, loved it, bookmarked it, made it again, made it again, but never saved a copy of the recipe…and now Voracious Eats is no more 😦

    • Deb October 4, 2012 at 6:06 pm

      No, sorry I don’t! In more recent times I’ve been saving static copies of recipes that I really like “just in case”, but I never did with this recipe, so it is lost to me now. Hope you’re able to find someone who has a copy!

Leave a Reply

