Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

What do you eat when….

…when you don’t feel like eating at all?

For me, if I have bread on hand it will be toast. Likely with some kind of nut butter, sometimes with some kind of jam.

Comfort food is extremely simple. And when I’m hungry but don’t feel like eating, and yet know I should? Again, simple food is what works for me.

I’m a grazer, when it comes down to it. It seems to suit me to have one fairly big meal, and to graze for most of the rest of the day. It comes in handy when others need to feed me too.

Yesterday I was on my way home from Vermont, stopped in my childhood neighborhood for a few hours to spend time with an old friend in the old ‘hood, and inevitably the “what can I feed you?” came up.

We hit the grocery store and stocked up on celery and carrots and hummus and chips and guac. And Cracker Jacks. She’d googled “vegan” and found out that Cracker Jacks are vegan. I hadn’t ever thought about it, but I read the label, and sure enough, they are one of those odd snacks that don’t seem like they’d be vegan but are. And though they’re not the healthiest stuff out there, their ingredient list doesn’t sound like a chemistry experiment.

Funny the things you learn when you least expect it.

At least one more person in the world knows that vegans are easy to feed, even without cooking up a home-made meal!

5 responses to “What do you eat when….

  1. The voracious Vegan October 13, 2009 at 6:02 am

    I’m a grazer too, although I rarely don’t feel like eating! I go for bread topped with nut butter or avocados, or hummus and veggies. Chocolate is always good, too! 😉

  2. nothoney October 13, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    Cereal with soymilk and raisins – that’s what I eat when I don’t want to cook and there aren’t any leftovers and pay day is tomorrow.

    s.

  3. Deb October 13, 2009 at 7:59 pm

    @tvv – I think we have similar eating habits! Though I do seem to have a few days every few months where eating seems like a chore. But all of the things on your list are a common part of my life!

    @nothoney – cereal makes so much sense. and I like it too. which makes it a bit odd that I so rarely eat it! I should get some cereal to have on hand for the days when I don’t have bread or don’t feel like toast and don’t want to cook but need something…

  4. Marina October 14, 2009 at 7:27 am

    Polenta with veggie sour cream or garlic beans, whichever I happen to have on hand. :o) The first combo is my favorite though.

  5. Deb October 14, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    I’ve never eaten much polenta. I think it scares me a little to try to make it. Is the polenta you eat when you don’t feel like eating something you make on the spot, or leftovers? I should explore the world of polenta. I’m probably missing out!

Leave a Reply

