Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Snackimals

veganmofo2009

I am lucky enough to have a great organic grocery store as my main place to get all of my staples plus my vegan splurges. A couple weeks ago I noticed a new product on the shelves. Snackimals. Out of curiosity, I looked at the ingredients. And it was all vegan! And no palm oil! And, amazingly, no sugar!

I got two bags – chocolate chip, and vanilla. And then I forgot for quite a while to bring any to work. Finally I remembered today, and had a bag of the “chocolate chip” flavor at work.

They were delicious! Crunchy and slightly sweet; I could taste the molasses, but just a hint of it.

I don’t see myself packing these in my lunch regularly, but they are a fun snack to have once in a while. Tasty, and relatively guilt free. And cute!

4 responses to “Snackimals

  1. girl least likely to October 8, 2009 at 9:00 pm

    yes! i love those silly things! i bought a big ol’ bag for my nieces too, to sneak some vegan desserts into their house. 🙂

  2. Mo October 8, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    Never knew there were chocolate chip snackimals. I’ll have to get those next time I pick some up.

  3. The voracious Vegan October 9, 2009 at 2:16 am

    Wow, you are so lucky to have such a great store nearby. Those look delicious and fun!

  4. Deb October 9, 2009 at 8:21 pm

    @gllt – I think it is a great thing to get your nieces hooked on. Not only are they vegan, they’re about as healthy as you can get for a cookie/snack! I will try to keep a stash around the house now, though they’re the kind of thing that is hard to have just a few of!

    @Mo – there are wheat-free oatmeal ones too. I hadn’t noticed when I was buying the two bags I got, but a friend told me that the oatmeal ones are good too! We have a bounty of snackimals. 🙂

    @tvv – I love my little store! And I swear, having a good store nearby has become part of the equation when I look into places to live. good light, good store, good biking! 😀

Leave a Reply

