Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Dibis Bi Tahina

veganmofo2009

Last year when I was participating in veganmofo I asked about carob molasses. I got some delicious sounding advice in the comments, which I never followed up on. In honor of this year’s veganmofo, it seemed only fitting that I give this carob molasses and tahini recipe a try! Actually, this is only one of two recipes given to me in the comments that I want to try.

One of the amazing things to me? Both recipes, with absolutely no modification and I believe from people giving traditional regional recipes, are vegan. There is something beautiful about that. But starting with this one recipe, as given by a commenter by the name of Lee:

I haven’t heard of the drink Kharoub, but my Lebanese in-laws make the dessert Dibis Bi Tahina you found out about, and it’s indescribably delicious. Like many wonderful things, it also couldn’t be simpler.

In a small serving bowl, start with more-or-less equal portions (say 1/3 cup each) of tahini and dibis el kharoub (carob molasses) and mix slowly together; they won’t want to mix together at first, so be patient. Keep stirring until fairly well mixed but still marbled. Feel free to adjust the proportions of the ingredients to your taste. Traditionally this dessert is served in a single bowl in the middle of the table along with a bowl of toasted pita chips for dipping as if it were a fondue.

The flavour is so marvelous and surprising, I laughed out loud when I first tried it! Give it a try…it’s a great close to a Middle-Eastern meal, or anytime; my mother-in-law keeps some made all the time, leaves it covered on the kitchen counter and eats it as a snack. Enjoy!

I made some tonight, and it was great. The description of “marvelous and surprising” are exactly right. There is something about it, I sat with for a second to try to assimilate, before just grinning and enjoying the hell out of it.

This is definitely going to be a common part of my life, now that I have tried it! And it is the perfect kind of recipe: add two things together in equal amounts and stir. Perfection in its simplicity.

5 responses to “Dibis Bi Tahina

  1. trktos October 6, 2009 at 8:04 pm

    well, darn – if i were closer, we could’ve shared our mofo dinners tonight – i bet this would have been great with homemade bread!

    did you find the carob molasses around here?

  2. Deb October 6, 2009 at 9:03 pm

    mmmm…homemade bread. I think it would have been great!

    My carob molasses was something I got in Denver, by chance, but I think you’d find it in any middle eastern grocery store. I think I found mine in an indian grocery store, actually. I’ll check the ethiopian grocery stores in my neighborhood soon, and let you know if they have it. I’m betting they will! You can also get it online, if all else fails.

  3. Melisser October 7, 2009 at 1:02 am

    Wow, this sounds interesting. I’ve never heard of carob molasses!

  4. The voracious Vegan October 7, 2009 at 2:22 am

    I love the combination of molasses and tahini, simple, quick, delicious and healthy. Looks fabulous!

  5. Deb October 7, 2009 at 6:00 pm

    @Melisser – I’d never have thought to look for it, and had never heard of it either before I stumbled upon it. I just happened to see it once in a middle eastern grocery store, and though I had no idea what to do with it, I had to get it! It turns out there are really interesting things to be done with carob molasses, so I’m glad I followed my impulse to try it!

    @tvv – i hope you like it, if you try it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

