Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

A quick piglet update

This update is already dated; I only know how things were as of Saturday! But I figure people want to know how things went for that first week.

And first of all, to catch everyone up, there are now two piglets! The second arrived late in the day on the same day as the first, and from the same place. They have names now as well. The first is named Izzy, the second is Morty. Morty is all black (except for his nose!) so he’s easy to pick out.

Morty was bigger and stronger from the start, and he also was given a chance to nurse once, and thus got that important colostrum.

Here’s a little video (actually 2 videos chained together) of Morty from last Saturday (and please excuse my less than stellar video skills!):

Izzy was doing really well, until Friday. Then he started having problems walking. No one knows exactly what was causing it. Neurological issues, perhaps. Nutrition might be playing a part. The vets don’t really know what to do, all of the information Terry found about was from other sanctuaries. Farmers would have just left Izzy to die.

The vet did give Terry some bovine colostrum to give to Izzy. Different species, so it isn’t as effective, but it should help establish the beneficial intestinal flora, which can only help. Especially if there is a nutritional component to Izzy’s issues.

Still, the overall prognosis for these tiny runt piglets is 50% chance of survival. That’s not great. It isn’t awful either, and Izzy made it a week, which is significant.

He’s a fighter too. His body wasn’t obeying him very well, but he was full of vim and vigor and a huge dose of determination as well. His will is strong, and he is driven to survive. I hope his body gives him a chance.

This weekend is the annual Open House. I’ve been helping out here and there by picking up auction items for the silent auction. This included a life-size Batman, which made me chuckle! It’s going to be a busy weekend. And VeganMoFo starts tomorrow. (What was I thinking?)

11 responses to “A quick piglet update

  1. sheryl, washington dc September 30, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    Thanks for the update. I spoke to Terry briefly today but didn’t get a chance to ask about the piglets. I hope Izzy makes it. I had such a good time holding them last time I was there.

    I’ll be there on Sunday around 1 p.m. and stay for cleanup. Mina is feeling pretty good; we have another appointment at our regular vet tomorrow to aspirate the enlarged lymph nodes. There’ll be no more chemo, and I’m opposed to the rescue drugs (one of the side effects is DEATH), so we’ll go with a holistic vet if the cancer has re-asserted itself, as I think it has and I’m pretty sure our vet thinks so, too. Things have been pretty foggy, but I’m always thinking of the sanctuary and all y’all.

    s.

  2. Kristen October 1, 2009 at 9:36 am

    OMG soooo adorable!!! I am pumped for the Open House this weekend…I’ll be there all day so see you there!!

  3. Marina October 1, 2009 at 4:07 pm

    So sweet. I hope they make it. [fingers crossed]

  4. Deb October 1, 2009 at 8:26 pm

    @sheryl – glad that Mina is feeling pretty good, even if the cancer has re-asserted itself. See you on Sunday!

    @Kristen – see you then!

    @Marina – I hope so too! The one thing that is certain – no matter how good or poor their chances are now (and really, their chances are pretty good), they would have had absolutely no chance anywhere but at a sanctuary. I try to keep that in mind, even though I’ll be heartbroken if they don’t make it.

  5. Ron Kearns October 1, 2009 at 9:48 pm

    Good luck with those piglets, Deb. I also know that finding time to submit your DEA comments was a chore, given these other important tasks, including this weekend’s Open House.

    Thanks again for caring for all animals from domesticated piglets to wild mountain lions…

  6. Mary Martin October 2, 2009 at 5:38 pm

    I’m sending a link to this to people I know who “love bacon.” There’s nothing like the story of individuals–and especially watching the little ones in action–to get people thinking.

    Thanks, as always!

  7. Deb October 2, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    @Ron – really, it is the pesky issue of work that gets in the way of the important things! (though paying my mortgage is important too, so that makes work the reluctant priority.) Thanks for all your help with the Mountain Lion issue, it makes it so much easier for me to advocate for them!

    @Mary – I’ll be interested to hear if the videos have a bigger impact than the photos/stories/everything else. I am pretty pathetic as a video-er, and stills are definitely how I see the world, but I do carry the Flip with me now, and I’m going to try to get some small video every week. If it helps, I’m not going to turn away from it!

  8. Huyen October 2, 2009 at 10:17 pm

    Thanks for keeping us updated and I love the blog! We’ll see you this weekend- wish I could help more but got my hands full of independent 3 year old lately. Waiting for the day when she can assist daddy 😉

  9. Deb October 2, 2009 at 10:29 pm

    @Huyen – glad you enjoy the updates! It will be good to see you this weekend. I always think it is so cute the way she loves the chickens! She’ll be a good little assistant pretty soon, I bet!

  10. bex October 3, 2009 at 7:28 pm

    pigglets! I’m dying of cute overload! I’m sending them my get well vibes.

Leave a Reply

