Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

serving others…

A fellow sanctuary volunteer was talking this weekend about a twilight zone episode he’d seen on YouTube recently. The sort of thing that could be very thought-provoking, but perhaps only if you were inclined to think in that direction.

10 responses to “serving others…

  1. Kaiser March 2, 2009 at 12:00 am

    i’ve been thinking about that situation more recently…

  2. nothoney March 2, 2009 at 7:49 am

    I love that episode. It’s a good day whenever the line “It’s a cookbook!” fits into a conversation.

    s.

  3. nothoney March 2, 2009 at 7:53 am

    It also brings to mind the movie “Soylent Green.” I think that movie has some interesting things to say about the direction we’re heading. “It’s PEOPLE! Soylent Green is PEOPLE!”

    s.

  4. kelly g. March 2, 2009 at 11:16 am

    I used to stay up late, watching old Twilight Zone reruns when I was a wee lil’ one. For some reason this particular episode stuck with me – even though I didn’t go veg until years later, when I was 18. I guess it made an impression, somewhere deep in my subconsciousness.

    I always root for the evolutionarily/technologically advanced aliens in scifi movies, too. I mean, hey, if that’s the justification WE give for our subjugation of non-human animals….fair is fair, right?

  5. Kelvin Kao March 2, 2009 at 5:43 pm

    Eh? Twilight Zone episodes used to be this short? It’s very short but very to the point. I like it.

    This reminded me of the Simpsons story “Hungry Are The Damned”. I did not know it was a parody of the Twilight Zone episode.

  6. Deb March 2, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    @ Kaiser – tell me more!

    @ nothoney – i need to see that movie! i often hear quotes from it, so I have a vague idea, but I think it is a movie I should watch for sure! (I’m really bad about remembering to watch movies, but it is on my list..)

    @ kelly g – that’s so interesting! I will have to tell Terry and the guy who brought up the episode, because of course after he told us about it we were wondering if anyone would really make that connection. I know what you mean about rooting for the advanced aliens…it is oddly part of what attracts me to “vampire fiction” (my general term, but it isn’t strictly fiction about vampires that I mean! confusing, I am.), the way it seems more realistic to me that humans, a prey species for many predators even if we don’t like to think of it that way, are depicted as … prey!

    @ Kelvin – I have a feeling that this one might have been condensed somehow. It did seem awfully short! But maybe that’s not a bad thing for posting on a blog. I will have to look up “Hungry Are The Damned” now! My Simpson’s watching was always sporadic, so I don’t remember that one!

  7. nothoney March 3, 2009 at 11:31 am

    Yeah, that is a very condensed episode. The original is about 22 minutes long, I’m sure.

    Definitely dig up “Soylent Green.” It’s Edward G. Robinson’s last film and Charleton Heston isn’t as annoying as in the Planet of the Apes movies.

    s.

  8. Stephanie E. March 5, 2009 at 10:00 am

    I’ve been jotting down notes here & there for a couple weeks and talking with my ed about an upcoming post that is so very related to this! I may have to include this video now. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  9. Kaiser March 5, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    it’s nothing special. just thinking how nice (not on a personal level) it would be for that to happen. even then, i wonder if people would learn their lesson?

  10. Amanda March 6, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    If you liked the Twilight Zone episode, you could also check out Colleen Patrick-Goudreau’s podcast (Vegetarian Food for Thought) in which she reads this story. I found it through iTunes when I did a search for veg*n shows.

    I did not see the TV version, but really loved the story when I listened to the podcast…and somehow did not see the end coming!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

