Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Give me some links!

I’ve been pretty pathetic for a long time about reading blogs in the movement. I think I regularly read about four. Well, and a bunch of vegan food blogs! But most of my blog subscriptions are to bike blogs or local area blogs discussing smart urban growth (don’t ask! I got sucked into it, and it is like a soap opera, I swear, you can’t stop finding out what will happen!) or photography blogs.

So I imagine that there’s an awful lot out there that is interesting that people have been talking about which I’ve been oblivious to. Hopefully you’ll take a second to link in a couple of your favorites! Though including more than one link will send your comment to await moderation, just as a warning. I’ll release it, but it might take a few hours or most of the day.

I’ll start with a few posts that I read with interest recently:

  • How to tell if there’s a mouse in your house; easyVegan has a series of articles on what-to-do and how-to-prevent this situation that seems almost inevitable that we’ll face at some point! She linked it in for me in the comments when I thought I had someone moving into my heating duct. I haven’t heard a peep since, so I didn’t end up needing the info, but will keep it in mind should I need it in the future!
  • The Media – Image Maker or Societal Messenger? This is an interesting blog to me, in general, dealing with the issue of perceptions of beauty. This post, while talking specifically about perceptions of human beauty, reminded me of many aspects within the animal rights movement. The idea that cute animals are not food, but ugly animal are? And the perception of animal rights and environmental rights activists as “fringe” and “radical” and “terrorists”, and all those other tags that people love to apply to us. Oh, yeah, “unemployed”, based on the number of people who would shout “get a job” when I used to do fur protests on Saturdays back when I lived in Denver!
  • A street photographer whose work I love; and something about this photo in particular just grabs me. He says, of his own work, “I enjoy capturing images of everyday life, which for most of us goes unnoticed, while in the pictures it takes on a new meaning…” And can you guess? Yes, indeed, I see parallels to those of us working on any of the animal rights, environmental rights, social justice issues…we see what most ignore (willfully or not), and the world takes on a new meaning for us. (not always a pretty one!)

That’s enough of an eclectic sampling from me! What have you got for me to read?

3 responses to “Give me some links!

  1. kelly g. November 12, 2008 at 11:05 pm

    Thanks for the link, Deb!

    As far as veg*n blogs go, I’m enjoying On Human-Nonhuman Relations (kind of academic; their tag line is “A Sociological Exploration of Speciesism.”), Vegans of Color and Vegan Soapbox. And of course the food blogs! – Especially Wing It Vegan, who featured Halloween themed goodies through the whole month of October.

    Mmmm, Halloweegan Eyeball Cupcakes!

  2. Stephanie E. November 13, 2008 at 10:11 am

    I try to keep up with a lot of blogs, more now than ever because of the Animal Rights blog at Change.org, but lately, one of my favorites has been the wonderfully sardonic Reformed Fast Food Mascot.

  3. Deb November 13, 2008 at 9:44 pm

    @ kelly g – thanks for those recommendations! I’ll have to spend more time checking them out this weekend – on human-nonhuman relations isn’t light reading!

    @ stephanie – great recommendation! I definitely appreciate the snark that Reformed Fast Food Mascot does. It seems really effective to me as well. I’ll have to spend more time this weekend on this one as well! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

