Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

protein power muffins

Recently I posted about a recipe I’d seen posted that got me all excited.

Protein Power Muffins.

I made them last night, and they are fantastic. I had a couple this morning after my ride, and I was good to go until lunch, something that I hadn’t been able to accomplish recently – either I’ve been hungrier, or haven’t been hitting the mark in recovery food.

These muffins apparently do the trick.

One change I made was that I didn’t have hemp seeds. Sheryl had suggested sunflower seeds, which sounded like a good idea to me, except that I didn’t realize I was out of sunflower seeds until it was too late. So I just dumped in some shredded unsweetened coconut, which seemed to work out great.

And I love coconut, so it is all good.

The other change was to use white whole wheat flour instead of the “all purpose flour”. I didn’t think there would be a change in intended texture, and I wanted these suckers as healthy as possible, for something with a mess of chocolate chips.

The one thing I want to change is the use of sugar. There isn’t a ton in these, but there is some, and they end up quite sweet, so I figure the sugar can go, replaced with something else perhaps.

The muffins end up with a great texture, and are quite moist. I love that they have quinoa in them! Though that tripped me up, time-wise, because I had forgotten that I needed to have some cooked quinoa for the recipe. Just a little extra time, which wasn’t a big deal overall.

I’ll definitely be making these again, and I’ll likely end up tweaking them a bit just for fun. Maybe someday I’ll get my hands on some hemp seeds too. The U.S. gov’t is sure to figure out some day that you can’t get high from hemp seeds!

4 responses to “protein power muffins

  1. nothoney October 30, 2008 at 3:33 pm

    Mmm, I loves coconut, too. Maybe add some maple syrup instead of unrefined sugar? It might also help with moisture because white whole wheat seems “drier” to me than unbleached flour. I do love King Arthur flours and especially white whole wheat!

    s.

  2. Deb October 30, 2008 at 8:44 pm

    I think I’d be more likely to do agave than maple syrup, though it is worth playing with different variations. It is extremely moist, just as it is, so I’d actually worry that a liquid sweetener would make it too moist. Maybe if I used spelt flour instead of white whole wheat!

  3. bex November 2, 2008 at 11:04 pm

    they sound great but I agree with not going with a liquid sweetener unless you are adjusting liquid elsewhere.

  4. Deb November 3, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    Yes, I think I’ll have to play around with them a bit. I made another batch this weekend, and I was running out of chocolate chips, so I used carob. YUM.

    I’m not so good at adjusting things like amounts of liquid, so I’ll have to give that more thought. (Unless someone comes up with a liquid-sweetener variation for me to try, so I don’t have to do the hard work myself! lol.)

Leave a Reply

