Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

here comes trouble

When Jeremy (briefly called Leo) and Lenny first arrived at Poplar Spring Animal Sanctuary, they were absolute sweethearts. Cuddly, adorable, when we’d pick them up they would seem practically boneless.

They are still sweethearts, they are still adorable, and they are too big to be picked up now. They are some kind of odd mix, if we were to relate their goat maturity to human maturity, of the terrible twos and the terrible teens. They still have their little baby voices, but when they come prancing over, we tend to say “uh oh, here comes trouble!”

They want to play, which sometimes means climbing on cars. It is okay when it is my truck, but not everyone would be quite so accepting of little goat scuff prints all over the hood and roof of their vehicle. Sometimes playing means head butting. Their heads are at my knee height, so I find this somewhat terrifying.

Yesterday they came, prancing, head-butting, “me-ee-aah”ing over. I scritched under Jeremy’s chin (which is now growing a beard!) from behind the safety of my rake. Lenny jumped up onto the filled wheelbarrow, and then down again. And then up again, and down, and up, and you know how those youngsters are with their boundless energy!

Terry put out some fresh hay, and Jeremy ran right over and scooped some up to wear on his head.

Jeremy always does this. I guess it is one way of making sure you always have food close at hand!

Jeremy

Jeremy

5 responses to “here comes trouble

  1. Mary Martin October 26, 2008 at 9:02 am

    That picture made my day. He can climb all over my Element anytime. I do hope to meet him some day. Does he like to be heat butted back, or would that be a dangerous proposition?

  2. Deb October 26, 2008 at 11:23 am

    He would adore being head-butted back, but it is definitely a dangerous proposition for those of us without heads designed for it! (And despite what your Dave might think, your head wouldn’t fare well!)

    It is funny to watch them, head-butting can be a sort of casual hello, I think. They’ll walk by another goat, sort of head-butt as they pass. Like air-kissing each others cheeks, I think!

    I hope you get to meet him, and the others, someday!

  3. nothoney October 26, 2008 at 3:14 pm

    Aw, I missed seeing the kids yesterday. My introduction to Jeremy was a firm head butt to my rear while raking. Then he wanted to play more, so I held up the rake and let him butt that for a bit. He’s an adorable little naughty boy.

    s.

  4. rich October 27, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    I remember them jumping on cars to eat the tree leaves last time I was there. They had so much energy and were so playful. Can’t wait to see them next month

  5. Deb October 27, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    sheryl, yup, sounds like the teenage jeremy to headbutt someone in greeting! When they first came, they were just the cutest little babies, and so my first introduction to them was to give them a bottle to drink. A very different intro!

    rich, they still have a ton of energy and are very playful! terry tries to keep them from jumping on the cars because she doesn’t want them to get in the habit, and upset people. They’re so rambunctious!

Leave a Reply

