Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

the recipe I’ve been waiting for…

I seem to always be on a quest for something easy to bring to work for my post-ride food. Breakfast-ish, is how I think of it, because I’ve never been much of a breakfast eater, and while I’m sometimes hungry when I get to work, I mostly eat upon arrival because my ride home is easier if I’ve helped the muscles recover upon ending my first ride.

I’ve talked about the Supercharge Me! cookies from Dreena Burton’s “Eat, Drink, and Be Vegan”, and I know I’ve spread the supercharge me love to a couple friends, at least. It is hard to find the kind of recipes I want, it seems, so other than variations on those cookies, and some breakfast grains, I’ve been at a loss.

VeganDad has helped me out with his recent post, a recipe for Protein Power Muffins. Which isn’t to say he had a clue who I am or that I was patiently waiting for someone to post a recipe that I’d pounce on, but he nevertheless posted exactly the kind of recipe I was indeed waiting to pounce on.

I have to get a couple ingredients at the store, and I’m not even sure I will be able to find hemp nuts, but I do plan on making these this weekend. I am just too excited about them to wait until after I’ve made them to post about them!

3 responses to “the recipe I’ve been waiting for…

  1. nothoney October 24, 2008 at 12:57 pm

    I looked for hemp nuts for a recipe in Burton’s “Vive Le Vegan” but never found them, so substituted sunflower seeds instead.

    s.

  2. Deb October 24, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    Great suggestion! I think I’ll order some hemp seeds if I can’t find them in my hfs, but in the meantime sunflower seeds would work like a charm!

    Thanks!

  3. Pingback: protein power muffins « Invisible Voices

Leave a Reply

