Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Greens

Jae Steel, author of “Get it Ripe”, commented on my post from yesterday asking whether I’d had any greens with my meal. And I hadn’t, of course!

That’s one of my biggest weaknesses, when it comes to my “eating fitness”. I don’t dislike greens, I just somehow rarely eat them. And steaming broccoli or spinach or kale couldn’t be easier or require less prep work unless I played the part of a baby bird and sat with my mouth open for someone else to put the steamed greens into. Which would be pretty cool, now that I think about it, but a wee bit outside the realm of possible!

So Jae’s nudge was a great reminder. Eating greens is a habit I simply must create. It needs to be a daily thing.

I’ll start next week, though, since I don’t think I’ll have time to get to the store before the weekend, and the farmers market is on Sunday. I can start planning now! Not that it takes much to plan for steaming greens!

This does mean I’m going to have to start going to the store more than once every 3 weeks though. That’s okay – I need to start making that trip on my bike, and I can’t carry 3 weeks worth of food on my bike! Well, I maybe could, but it would be a slow ride home.

Anyone have any favorite recipes, hints or tips? Anything you’ve done that facilitated a daily green habit?

6 responses to “Greens

  1. Stephanie E. October 22, 2008 at 12:08 pm

    Hi, Deb. I know this isn’t as ideal as fresh, but around our house, we find that keeping frozen spinach on hand really helps in this department. It’s something we can cook very quickly (and often) at the last minute, with a bit of lemon juice and Herbamare tossed in for additional flavor, without having to worry about it going bad in the fridge if we don’t use it in a timely fashion.

  2. Deb October 22, 2008 at 4:50 pm

    Stephanie, that’s a good idea – I have heard that frozen veggies don’t lose much nutritionally, too. Avoiding having things go bad in the fridge is an issue with the greens and veggies in general. That’s one thing that is great about growing food – most of the time, I can just pick what I need right then (though the cukes outpaced me for sure!) I didn’t grow any green leafies this year, but I definitely want to do it next year so I can just pick a bit for that night. I’ve never heard of herbamare before, but it sounds good! Thanks!

  3. SuperWeed October 24, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    1. When you’re thinking greens, don’t forget cheap, piquant, and nutritious mustard greens! Just toss them in a pot with some water and a splash of olive oil. Don’t forget to drink the pot liquor or at least reserve it to use when cooking something else.

    2. You can grow them too! Mustard greens grow like weeds all through the spring and into the summer. Growing kale is easy too, although I’ve found spinach to be more temperamental.

    3. Use greens like herbs! Mustard, kale, or spinach can be chopped finely and tossed into soups and stir fries for seasoning, adding some flavoring and giving you at least some of that leafy green nutritional goodness.

  4. Deb October 24, 2008 at 8:21 pm

    pattrice, thanks for those suggestions! I’m really good at growing weeds, so mustard greens sound like just the thing for me to grow in my garden! And good to know about kale vs spinach.

    Maybe someone will have mustard greens at the market this weekend.

    Regardless, I really like the idea of adding them to dishes like herbs. Such a simple thing, and I don’t know why it wouldn’t have occurred to me!

  5. bex November 2, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    frozen spinach is definitely a help. I have a hard time keeping fresh greens for long, they wilt so quickly and sometimes rot frighteningly fast. Anyway, green smoothies are awesome for breakfast (I usually manage at least two servings of fruit and one of veg this way). I love kale and it’s so easy to cook, that reminds me, I need to make the kale with tamari sauce in vwav soon as requested by the hubby

  6. Deb November 3, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    I used to do green smoothies a lot. It is so nice because it takes away the burden of all that chewing! lol. I could get a ton of greens and fruit that way. I’ll have to try to get back in the habit, at least on the weekends!

    Kale is another good one. I’ll have to try that recipe. I’ve never made it before, but it sounds good!

Leave a Reply

