Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

harley comes to poplar spring

I suppose it makes us all ageist, but everyone gets super excited when babies come to Poplar Spring.

I’d been hearing about a baby pig that was being relinquished to the sanctuary from a petting zoo, but it seemed like his arrival kept getting put off. Well, he finally arrived. And damn, is he cute.

harley

harley

9 responses to “harley comes to poplar spring

  1. SoCal Muchacha October 14, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    How do you spell adorable? H-a-r-l-e-y!!! Just wanna smooch that little piggy face. 🙂

  2. Deb October 15, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    lol. He’s a little bundle of energy too!

  3. Shana October 15, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    I helped rescue this pig! He was in NC where I live and me and my friend drove him to Richmond where Dave of Poplar Spring took him the rest of the way to MD. I’m so glad he’s in a good place now and is happy!

  4. Deb October 16, 2008 at 4:17 am

    Shana, that is so cool! Awesome that you and your friend were able to help get him part of the way here. If you ever can get to the DC area, definitely head up to PS to visit him! I’ll likely post more about him too – I’m at the sanctuary every saturday – so drop back in once in a while!

    On his behalf, thanks so much helping rescue him! Rescues often take a coordinated effort that gets lost in the overall story, so I’m really glad you found this little post and added more on how he came to PS!

  5. Shana October 18, 2008 at 8:58 am

    Deb,

    I just sent a letter of thank you to Terry and Dave, which included this story I wrote for the local Vegetarian MeetUp I belong to in it, http://vegetarian.meetup.com/98/files/.

    I do plan on visiting Harley sometime. I’m originally from Rockville, MD so I still have lots of family in the area. My mom even went to see Harley at the Open House the other weekend. She’s not veg, but she’s very accepting of my lifestyle and eats veg out of respect to me at my house and she did eat the stuff at Poplar Spring. Anyway, thanks for posting about Harley. My regular e-mail is Shana6375@yahoo if you ever want to write! 🙂

    http://www.facebook.com/home.php#/profile.php?id=605693050&ref=profile

  6. Shana October 18, 2008 at 9:01 am

    I forgot to add, my husband and I created a blog of local veg resources in the Raleigh area

    http://vegraleigh.blogspot.com/

  7. Deb October 18, 2008 at 12:37 pm

    Shana, thanks for linking that story! I was telling Dave and Terry today that you’d found my little post about Harley and commented. They thought that was pretty cool, and told us more of his story, and then your write-up filled in all the blanks. He was lucky so many times already in his short life!

    That’s awesome that your mom came to see Harley last weekend too! He got so much attention, he’s going to be very spoiled. 🙂

    I’ll email you a link to more pictures soon! He’s growing so fast.

  8. Pingback: Harley and Piglet « Invisible Voices

  9. Deb October 19, 2008 at 7:14 pm

    Shana, I had to recover the 2nd comment from the spambox for some reason, so it has just appeared now. Thanks for linking your blog!

Leave a Reply

