Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Daily Archives: October 4, 2008

Poplar Spring Animal Sanctuary: Open House 10/12/08

Next Sunday is Poplar Spring’s Open House. This is their biggest event, and their events tend to be pretty big. I think last year they had something like 1,000 people show up.

It is a fund-raiser for the sanctuary, but it is also a great chance to introduce a lot of people to the deliciousness of vegan food. The food for this event is catered, and it is definitely delicious. The majority of the people who will come to the event are not vegetarian, let alone vegan.

I find that interesting. But if I think back to my pre-veg days, I can imagine myself being one of those as-yet-clueless supporters.

I bet I would have found the path to veganism faster, though, if I’d had a Poplar Spring in my life back then.

Outreach is one of the points of sanctuaries for just this reason. Offering free food and the chance to meet these amazing rescued animals, and it is no surprise that the events draw a lot of people. I’m sure there is always a percentage that has never had vegan food before. Guess they get to see first hand that we eat more than just bunny food, bark and twigs!

Today doing our normal volunteer chores at the sancutary, we ventured further into the pig yard than normal in preparation for next week’s event. It was a gorgeous fall day, and a lot of the pigs were out enjoying the weather. We had a lot of rain in September, so things are super green too.

One of the pigs was almost entirely hidden, lounging in the creek, with the weeds all around him. He was so pleased with himself to have found his little spot!

avery

avery

Another pig, who must have spent quite a bit of time in the creek herself, joined us when we were about done, standing in the way of the gate so that we were forced to give her some attention. I don’t believe this was an accident – the pigs are clever! And adorable.

Charlene has an especially cute face. I had never really noticed her face the way I did today, but it just was extra cute, reminding me of a teddy bear somehow.

charlene

charlene

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 616 other followers