Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Great Sage, August 31 – a Poplar Spring benefit day

Great Sage is arguably my favorite vegetarian (almost entirely vegan) restaurant in the DC metro area. The menu isn’t extensive, but everything I have ever had is delicious as well as interesting. I love it, but I don’t go often because it is far enough away and not on the way to anything (for me) that I just don’t bother.

This Sunday, however, is a benefit day for Poplar Spring Animal Sanctuary. 10% of the day’s proceeds will be donated to Poplar Spring, so it is now my solemn duty to not only go to Great Sage on Sunday, but to eat a lot.

In preparation for the last half of the equation, I am contemplating riding my bike to and from PS for my regular Saturday chores, which would be about 70 miles total. Since this week is my first week of riding 4 days in a row to work (29 miles round trip), thinking about riding 70 miles in a day, and only 2 days before I’ll have to get back on the bike for another commute to work, is a pretty big deal.

But think of how much food I’d need to eat on Sunday if I rode 70 miles on Saturday!

The other exciting part of this Sunday trek to Great Sage is that they are serving Brunch. I have never had Great Sage’s brunch, and I’m looking forward to it.

A small handful of the normal Saturday volunteers are starting Sunday morning at Poplar Spring and we will attempt to be super-speedy with the morning chores so that Terry and Dave will both be able to enjoy the brunch.

Another reason to love Great Sage?

Bikers and Pedestrians get 10% off their check!

They’re not in my bike range (yet) but I love that they offer this.

For anyone in the DC or Baltimore metro area (Great Sage is sort of in-between the two), make sure to get out to Great Sage this Sunday!

And if you’d like to help out at the sanctuary first, that would be pretty cool too.

Leave a Reply

