Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

a baby goat at the sanctuary

It seems to be baby season. Last weekend I taxied baby chicks to Eastern Shore Chicken Sanctuary, as well as a rooster who had been lodging at Poplar Spring Animal Sanctuary. When I picked up the rooster, Dave (co-founder of PSAS) asked if I’d seen the baby lambs yet. A pregnant sheep had been found wandering somewhere in Maryland and after she was finally caught by the county, she almost immediately gave birth to twins. They all came to PSAS, and the little lambs are about the cutest things I’ve seen!

Today while helping in the goat yard I heard a baby calling. It was clearly coming from the barn where the rooster had lived, and I thought maybe the momma sheep and her babies had been moved from quarantine to there. But nope, Terry told me that it was yet another baby, this time a baby goat! Mamma-less, as it happens.

She’s about a month old, still being bottle fed, and she comes from a severe abuse/neglect case. She’s pretty skinny, as you might guess, but she ate quite well. She arrived at the sanctuary just yesterday.

baby goat at ps
2 responses to “a baby goat at the sanctuary

  1. Mary Martin March 5, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    If I were a bit more like some people we all know, I’d say, “I wanna git me a baby goat!”

    She’s precious. And fortunate.

  2. Deb March 5, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    She is both, indeed. 🙂

Leave a Reply

