Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Spanish language AR literature?

I like to stock my local library and coffee shop with literature. It wasn’t going very fast in the library, and I wasn’t sure if that was because the free literature is tucked out of the way or why exactly. I was told that it tends to go really fast out of other libraries.

And then, finally, I started thinking for real. There are a lot of spanish-language resources at the library, so maybe the literature wasn’t going very fast because it wasn’t appealing to spanish speakers. At the very least, considering that there is a mix of people at the library, I should supply literature in both English and Spanish.

The only problem – where do I get spanish-language literature? I did a quick search, and surprisingly I didn’t come up with much. PeTA, naturally, had a couple things, but there are a few obvious reasons not to want to us those.

A more general problem for me is that my spanish is pretty basic. I can read more than I can speak, but I’m not going to be able to get more than the overall idea of how the information is conveyed in Spanish.

Anyone have any suggestions, recommendations? Is there anyone who speaks spanish and is willing to spend some time making up some literature I (and others) can use?

I know there are groups in spanish speaking countries, but considering the demographics of this country, it seems a little crazy that I can’t find some a little closer to home…hopefully it is just my ‘net skills failing me.

edward, rear view
6 responses to “Spanish language AR literature?

  1. Deb February 12, 2008 at 6:23 pm

    Thanks, that looks like what I need!

  2. Ari February 13, 2008 at 11:50 am

    An activist I know in Spain might be able to help – and he has a lot of links:
    http://www.veganactivist.net (English version)
    http://www.veganactivist.net/es/ (Spanish version)

  3. Deb February 13, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    Thanks ari, I’ll check those links out!

  4. vegansofcolor February 27, 2008 at 11:10 pm

    I just saw rinconanimal.com mentioned as a Spanish-language US-based AR site (it’s listed in the resources in the back of The Longest Struggle, which I just finished), which reminded me of your post. I haven’t looked @ the site myself (I don’t speak Spanish, alas) tho’.

  5. Deb February 28, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    Thanks VoC! I looked at it, and it does look like a pretty good resource. I couldn’t find if they have any literature, which isn’t to say it isn’t there, just that my spanish isn’t good enough.

    I got Vegan Outreach’s “porque vegetariano” and I forgot how graphic some of the pictures were in their “Why Vegan,” so now I’m reconsidering whether they belong in the library. I’m afraid if people complain that their kids picked it up…I can use it for bus and metro stops, at least!

Leave a Reply

