Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

AR08 registration open

The registration for the 2008 AR conference is now open. It is going to be in the DC area August 14-18, and registration costs are half price through Feb 15. $80 is still a lot for many people, but there are ways to offset those costs. Contact FARM for more info.

At this point FARM is still gathering the speakers and topics, so if you have ideas, preferences, suggestions, go to their speaker page and click the link to send recommendations.

6 responses to “AR08 registration open

  1. vegansofcolor February 7, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    Oooh, interesting & tempting. I was glad to read your blog post about your experience @ the conference 2 years ago. I’ve never been to any animal-related conference, & I know I keep hearing about one that’s basically welfarist & they praised Whole Foods for happy meat or whatever, & I never remember which one — but it seems pretty obvious that this one isn’t it.

    I think it would be really neat to go. I may have to think about it…

  2. Deb February 8, 2008 at 3:00 pm

    Yeah, I’ve gone the past two years and I definitely recommend it. The Whole Foods/happy meat conference was TAFA (can’t remember at the moment what it stands for), which typically they’ll schedule for one week after the AR conference. TAFA is always in the DC area, and ARxx alternates between LA and DC.

    A lot of people complain that FARM’s AR conferences are “welfarist” or that there “aren’t enough abolitionist voices” (actually, the people who call it welfarist mean “the don’t limit it to people who are in complete agreement with my stance” because FARM has a pretty much open door policy; they’re open to any view that doesn’t advocate injury), but aside from the arrogance in assuming you can’t learn from someone who you don’t agree with 100%, there are topics discussed that transcend the abolitionist/welfarist/new-welfarist/new-abolitionist debate.

    Last year there were a few sessions I went to that talked about movement coalitions, and being multi-issue, which was awesome. And there was a half-day session on legal stuff, which was sort of terrifying and eye-opening at the same time.

    AND you’d get a chance to go to soul veg. 😉

  3. vegansofcolor February 8, 2008 at 11:02 pm

    Huh. The TAFA being scheduled right after the AR conference sounds v. suspicious on their part!

    Anyway–it sounds wonderful. I would totally love to go (& Soul Veg! Yum!!!). Although I think it’s possibly scheduled @ the most inconvenient time for my life this summer, ack! We’ll see.

    The multi-issue stuff sounds particularly great–I mean, I’ve gone to other activist things & been frustrated @ the lack of multi-issueness, although it’s gotten better in some spaces (although w/feminist stuff, you wouldn’t know it from the “gender trumps race” talks from Steinem etc. re: the election). I’d love to be a part of helping make that happen more in AR stuff too.

  4. Deb February 9, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    I’ve always thought it was quite suspicious!

    I hope you are able to go to the conference! I think that we do have a tendency to focus in on the specific issues that we spend most of our time on, but I was very motivated at ar07 by the multi-issue talks. There is still a LOT of room for growth in this respect, and there is definitely an attitude among some that we “don’t have time to be multi-issue”. I don’t see what that accomplishes other than to alienate people! Hopefully there will be even more of the multi-issue types at this years conference.

  5. Tracy March 11, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    I’ve already registered for the AR conference and have booked a room, but I’m looking for someone to share it with me (to ease the financial aspect). I’ve posted on several veg boards, but can’t find anyone who’s going. If anyone is interested in sharing a non-smoking room (double beds), please reply to this post. Thanks!

  6. Deb March 11, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    FARM usually has a link where people can hookup, I think, to share costs. You might want to email them to see if they have something like that set up already, or if they are going to set it up later. There’s also bulletin boards that will be set up in the hotel during the conference, which might help if you don’t have anything lined up by then.

    I’m sure you won’t have any problems, especially as it gets closer to the time of the conference. I think people tend to make decisions last minute!

Leave a Reply

