Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Baby chicks at Poplar Spring

baby chicks ps oct 13

A couple weeks ago five baby chicks came to Poplar Spring from a weird situation. Someone was walking through the parking lot to their regular grocery store when they saw a baby chick running around. Eventually they found a beer six pack container, which had a plastic bag with some baby chicks inside. One had already suffocated. The mother was nearby, killed by a minivan.

Luckily the rescuers were vegans and they looked up chicken sanctuaries on the ‘net. Eventually that brought them to call Poplar Spring, and Terry was able to pick them up. They’re about two weeks old now, and they’ve grown so much just between last week and this! (Though I’m not sure you can really tell from these pictures, since the perspective is so different – they were about 3 times bigger this week.) Even their chirping is bigger. They are getting some feathers and losing the yellow fuzz.

We let them out of their little enclosed pen for a while, and they happily dug in the dirt, and flitted from place to place. So busy and curious! They instinctively head towards protected areas, since in the open they’re in danger from predatory birds. The peacock was very curious about them, as he is about anything new, but he didn’t come too close. One hen came over to boss them around, and a rooster came over to strut his stuff. The babies pretty much ignored them both, which I suppose makes them about 3 people years old!

It is so nice to see babies with beaks, isn’t it?

baby chicks ps oct 20

12 responses to “Baby chicks at Poplar Spring

  1. rich October 20, 2007 at 9:13 pm

    Holy cow are they cute. Such a sad story and who knows how the hell they got there and what messed up person put them there. So luck for them that someone who was vegan and had a heart found them.
    Last year I was given permission to finally clean out my closet of science supplies I inherited from all the old science teachers.
    I took great pride in throwing away a brand new chicken egg incubator/turner.
    What is the possible reason to have chickens hatch in a classroom?

  2. Deb October 20, 2007 at 9:25 pm

    Yes, they were very lucky! Terry and Dave speculate that they are (I think I have this right) white leghorns. An egg-laying breed. So probably that would have been their fate, though it is hard to understand how they ended up in a plastic bag in a beer container in a supermarket parking lot. With the mom, though she didn’t survive.

    I actually remember science class in high school and what we did to those eggs/baby chickens. We opened up the shell to “see their heart beating” and I distinctly remember not finding out until afterwards that this was the same as killing them. I was so upset, but of course I couldn’t do anything about it at that point.

    What did I learn? Nothing scientific. From a social standpoint I learned not to trust my favorite teacher…

    I’m so glad you got rid of that cursed incubator/turner.

  3. Becci October 21, 2007 at 1:20 am

    At least those little guys are okay now…very cute pictures.

  4. Erica October 21, 2007 at 12:34 pm

    I’ve just found your gorgeous blog, and I’m so glad I have! It’s embarrassing that I’ve never been to Poplar Spring, considering I live in Montgomery County. I’m hoping to make it to the Thanksgiving event. Thanks again for a great blog — I’m looking forward to keeping up with it!

  5. Deb October 21, 2007 at 1:03 pm

    Becci, so true! The thing about animal rescue is that there are always tragedies to go right along with the triumphs, but it doesn’t help to dwell on the tragedy. That’s easy enough when you have cute baby chicks to focus on! πŸ™‚

    Erica, welcome and thanks for stopping in! I know so many people in the area who have never been, so you’re far from the only, and no reason to be embarrassed! I moved here just a bit over a year ago, and visiting poplar spring was actually one of the first things I did, but then I’d been to the sanctuary near where I’d moved from, and I knew volunteering at the sanctuary was something I wanted to have part of my life.

    That would be awesome if you make it to the Thanksgiving event. There are hundreds of people who show up, and literally tables and tables of vegan food! But you should come some other time too – volunteering on the weekends is a lot of fun, and you get to really know the animals. It is a great feeling to be there. πŸ™‚

  6. Erica October 21, 2007 at 7:20 pm

    Thanks for the encouragement, Deb! I definitely intend to volunteer, maybe before it gets too cold. I also hope to organize a group volunteer trip next semester for the Student Animal Legal Defense Fund at my school.

    I had no idea the Thanksgiving event was so large — that’s so exciting!

  7. Deb October 21, 2007 at 8:19 pm

    I went out to the sanctuary about twice a month all last winter, and the weather was so undependable! Some days were balmy, some were freezing, so if this year is anything like that (I don’t really know what winters are normally like here!) then you can play it by ear and choose a balmy weekend to volunteer. And of course it is always great to get a group out there to visit. It is really motivating.

    The thanksgiving event is not the biggest one – the open house (which was about 3 weeks ago) is their biggest event – 800 people! But thanksgiving is special, and of course a giant vegan potluck is something to behold! πŸ™‚

  8. girl least likely to November 6, 2007 at 10:13 pm

    oh, they’re so cute!! very sad about their poor mama and sibling, though. people are jerks. but you’re right–it’s awesome to see babies with beaks!

  9. Deb November 7, 2007 at 6:46 am

    They’ve grown so much too, just in a few weeks! I will try to get pics this weekend. They have real feathers and are like minature chickens now!

  10. Pingback: Baby chickens, all grown up « Invisible Voices

  11. chick lover March 17, 2008 at 6:54 pm

    aaaaawwwwww,so cute but so sad!!!!!!!!!

  12. Pingback: Sanctuary update, August 08, 2009 « Invisible Voices

Leave a Reply

