Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

The planning of a screening

juniper at ps

It seems my half-formed idea of doing a screening is gaining momentum. One of the biggest benefits, in my opinion, to the tabling I did this weekend was the connections that I formed. At the Takoma Park Street Festival one of my fellow tabler/leafletters is someone I think I recognized from AR07 (but then we know how good I am at recognizing anyone!), but regardless, she had recently talked to Jenny Stein of Tribe of Heart, who had mentioned the conversation we had at Poplar Spring’s Open House last weekend, and that I was interested in doing a screening. My fellow leafleter is interested in helping me. This is excellent news, because I certainly don’t want to take this project up on my own! All the help I can get would be wonderful.

We talked about it a bit, and Erica of COK heard us talking and mentioned that we should also get the venue (a dinner theater, and I found out last weekend that someone I volunteer with at Poplar Spring can help me feel out the place I have my eye on, because she is acquainted with the person who recently bought it) to serve vegan (and only vegan) food during the screening. This was an excellent suggestion, and something I hadn’t even thought of yet, since up until last weekend this was as vague an idea as it is possible to be!

As we discussed some ways to tackle this I mentioned that the venue does already have a veggie burger on the menu (I don’t know at this point whether it is vegan, but it is something I’ve been meaning to check), and that led to a discussion on talking to the theater’s management to work on getting some good vegan options on the menu there, regardless. And it looks like I might have some help there also.

I will need to take a bunch of things into consideration (though after talking with Jenny, I don’t forsee having any problems with doing what I need to get permissions, if I can manage to get a crowd of 100+ regardless), and taking a closer look at their how-to guide, I feel like I’m well on my way towards success. Okay, not actually far down the path, but heading in the right direction. I have started gathering my team (mostly by accident, and the team seems to be forming itself, but that’s perfectly fine with me!) and I will think about what other groups in the area would be interested in joining in (because I love coalitions). I have a venue in mind, even if I have no idea yet whether they’d want to get on board. I have a date, sort of, if you consider “sometime after PK is re-released” to be a date! Good enough for now, for me. And the video projection and refreshments pretty much are taken care of (at least to a degree, possibly fully) if the venue I have in mind is up for it. Since they are a movie theater that serves food…

I know this will be a lot of work, but I’m excited about it. I am excited about the new version of PK that will be released, about doing a screening, about the people who are excited right along with me and offering to help before I even have a chance to ask.

A supportive community is not something to be underrated.

goats at ps

6 responses to “The planning of a screening

  1. beforewisdom October 9, 2007 at 8:35 am

    The American Film Institute (AFI) Theater in Silver Spring can be rented out for less than $1000 ( it has been at least a year since I asked about the price ). They will let you serve food in the theater.

    The AFI Theater is within walking distance of the Silver Spring metro station on the redline. It is easily accessible from the beltway. On the weekend there is ample free parking in the area.

    If you could get several animal protection organizations to chip in a few hundred dollars each you could show Peaceable Kingdom for free to the public.

    If you do that on a weekend when people feel unhurried, you will get a number of regular people ( with enough advertising ) to walk in.

    You can have a stack of vegan starter guides or recipe booklets waiting for them by the theater door after the film is over.

    You might also try getting contributions and/or samples from local veg*n businesses in exchange for mentioning their name to the audience.

  2. Deb October 9, 2007 at 9:03 am

    Thanks. If the venue I have in mind doesn’t work out, I’ll contact these others.

  3. rich October 9, 2007 at 8:44 pm

    Deb: What an awesome project and idea. Any time we can get any kind of public screening out there it helps raise awareness. The added benefit is that hopefully they will get some additional vegan options and they not only stick with them but they sell well.

  4. Deb October 9, 2007 at 9:29 pm

    Thanks Rich. I’m hopeful that it will be a success. It will be an interesting learning experience, regardless! And if I can get the venue to have some permanent vegan options, well, I’ll certainly be a good customer! I was telling Erica that it could be much like Asylum, which is a place I doubt any of us would go to if they didn’t have the vegan brunches. But they do, and so we go, and I think this venue could be the same.

  5. Jen October 24, 2007 at 6:14 pm

    I’m on the board of Georgetown’s Student Animal Legal Defense Fund — I’m sure our group would be interested in helping out with and/or attending a screening. Please email me with any details or things we could do to make this great idea happen!

Leave a Reply

