Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Meme-go-round

goat at poplar spring

I was tagged for a meme! I’m not sure what that means, but since Neva was nice enough to mention me, I’ll continue the idea. 5 blogs I read, and learn from, seems to be the general idea.

It would have been a no-brainer to tag Neva’s blog, if she hadn’t been the one to tag me first! Two of the blogs Neva mentioned would also have been among the blogs I tagged – Animal Person and SuperWeed. I’m going to skip them only because they were just mentioned.

So, though it is in no particular order, my list starts with INDIEchouette, a 16 year old brilliant writer, vegetarian aspiring-to-be-vegan, with excellent musical taste. One of her recent posts was the playlist she likes to run to, and I’m listening to it right now. I stumbled upon her blog a few months back, when using wordpress’ tag surfer. She wrote about finding a hurt bird, and the particular agony we feel when we are powerless to help another. I’ve been addicted to reading her blog ever since, and I really admire both her personal honesty and the beautiful way she has of expressing her thoughts and ideas.

The VegBlog does a great job of providing quick links to articles and issues of interest to animal rights activists, as well as in-depth research into mattresses and pillows (who knew there was so much to think about!), and his thoughts on various issues. Ryan was one of the first vegan/AR bloggers out there, and his links and resources reflect the amount of time he’s been collecting them.

VeganMotorcyclist is new, and unique. Rich has been riding for practically his whole life, and most of his working life has been involved with bikes on some level. He’s a teacher now, but his kids think he’s pretty cool with his bike and bike gear. Finding vegan bike gear isn’t all that easy, so Rich has been collecting and updating that info on his associated site. The blog has some great tips for good traveling food, as well as places he’s stopped, rides he’s gone on, influences on his life, and bloody toes. Some pictures too, but not (some of you might be thankful) of the bloody toe.

Green Is The New Red is an excellent blog by Will Potter, an independent reporter. As the title indicates, he covers issues concerning the “green scare” – in other words, the influence and effect of the AETA, the various trials, coverage in the media concerning animal rights and eco activists. Will was called to testify for a congressional hearing regarding the AETA and has done many radio interviews (there is an excellent one on VeganFreaks podcast), and has a really in-depth analysis of the AETA.

Last, but certainly not least, is Peaceful Prairie’s blog. To read the blog entries is to understand, just a little bit more, the complexity of emotions, of individuals, of all of us, human or not. The entries don’t come very often, but each one is beautifully, carefully written, and it is rare that I can read an entry without a tear or two, of both happiness and sadness. Joanna does amazing things with the pictures as well, and (you might guess) I can’t help but to love that as well.

So, those are the five blogs I’m tagging. There are so many fabulous bloggers out there, it was hard to choose just five.

rudy at poplar spring

7 responses to “Meme-go-round

  1. RichB May 26, 2007 at 9:15 am

    Thank you for mentioning my blog, it is new and it takes more work to do than I imagined. It makes me appreciate blogs like yours, and others even more. Of course I will never have the amazing pictures you have, but I will try.

  2. Deb May 26, 2007 at 10:06 am

    Yes, blogs really do take a lot of work! I’m always amazed at the people who are able to blog every day, some of them long, thoughtful, researched posts. I seem to only be able to do a few a week, and even that is sometimes hard for me!

  3. Pingback: SuperWeed » Blog Archive » Tag, I’m It

  4. Neva May 29, 2007 at 8:06 am

    Thanks for playing! All interesting stuff, I look forward to checking them out!

  5. Deb May 31, 2007 at 3:09 pm

    It is fun, I’m glad to play!

  6. Ida June 5, 2007 at 11:34 pm

    I’m waiting for new PPS photos! 🙂

  7. Deb June 6, 2007 at 7:43 pm

    heh. the problem is that i only took about 1200! 😀

Leave a Reply

