Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Poplar Spring – 4th annual Run for the Animals

ps goat

Anyone who reads my blog once in a while knows that I spend a fair amount of time at Poplar Spring Animal Sanctuary. This Sunday there is a benefit run, so anyone in the area should show up at Wheaton Park in time for it!

Ryan of VegBlog will be there, and … well, that pretty much exhausts my knowledge of the people of the area, aside from Terry and Dave of Poplar Spring, and Erica of COK. I’m sure I’ll be meeting a few other people at the race, which will be fun. Lyn of COK has promised to introduce me around.

I won’t be running, but I’ll be taking pictures. I’m helping out COK in that respect, and we’ll submit an article about the race and about Poplar Spring to VegNews. Who knows if it will get published (while VegNews doesn’t seem like the kind of publication that prints articles like that, they did publish an article about last year’s race, so who knows!), but it seems worth a shot. Luckily all I have to do is take pictures for that article.

I will be submitting another article, one about one of the residents of Poplar Spring. I’m laughing to myself as I type this, because I feel like I need to say “Bob, don’t make fun of me if I get published in VegNews, okay?”

And now, to quickly change the topic, pattrice jones has just started up a really awesome blog in the past few days. I’m so happy she did – as much as I love “Aftershock” and appreciate all of the articles she writes, it makes me that much happier to see that there will be yet more of pattrice’s writing to read on a very regular basis. She’s busy making connections that desperately need to be made, and that most of us might not make without a little prodding. Go check it out – you won’t be sorry!

chickens at eastern shore

9 responses to “Poplar Spring – 4th annual Run for the Animals

  1. Neva May 16, 2007 at 8:05 pm

    Good luck on getting your article published!! I look forward to seeing it!

  2. Deb May 16, 2007 at 8:13 pm

    Thanks! I’ll post a heads up if I hear that it is going to be published! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Which reminds me, and I know I should post this comment on your blog, not mine, but I read your article in no compromise, the one you have linked from your blog? Excellent article. It has given me much to think about and reflect upon.

    So everyone reading this comment, go read Neva’s article: http://www.nocompromise.org/issues/23gossip.html

  3. pattricejones May 16, 2007 at 10:11 pm

    I’m so glad you’re writing for print publication too! It’s always hard to guess what VegNews might like. But, if they don’t end up taking the article, maybe somebody else will. Sometimes it takes a while to match an article with a publication. The important thing is to trust your own voice while at the same time being responsive to what editors want for their publications. I’m looking forward to finding out which Poplar Springs resident you’ll be writing about.

  4. Deb May 16, 2007 at 10:29 pm

    Thanks for the encouragement! Lyn at COK is the one who suggested it, and since I’ve never really tried to get anything published before, I’m really clueless. It helps to get some perspective. I got a recent copy of VegNews so I can hopefully get a feel for what they’d be interested in, and see what I can fit into that, go from there.

    I’m looking forward to finding out who I write about too – I have to go through my latest batch of pictures from PS and figure it out! There are so many stories there, as at all sanctuaries.

  5. Neva May 17, 2007 at 8:48 am

    Thank you. It’s actually not a really new article… Part of the reason I started my blog was that I was writing articles and submitting them all over the place and never getting anything published. Since writing that article I’ve only become more convinced that gossip and other social-political methods allow certain people within the movement to consolidate power in ways that bother me at times. I don’t really know how to address that…

  6. Neva May 17, 2007 at 11:05 am

    PS. I painted a huge painting of Benny the pig from Poplar Spring, but can’t post it because it’s huge and won’t fit on my scanner. I always thought his story was very compelling, but then it seems all the pigs have compelling stories.

  7. Deb May 17, 2007 at 5:44 pm

    I think that gossip and similar things are very damaging. Not even, in my experience, just from people who are trying to consolidate power or anything remotely like that. I’ve seen it so often, it is disenheartening. But…I think there is hope. Do you subscribe to Herbivore? If so, in the May online issue there is an interview that Isa did with pattrice. They talk about the feminist movement and sanctuary, and how women in the feminist movement and people who have dealt with (going by memory here) rape and trauma (as victims or as people helping victims) have learned how to work together in non-hierarchical non-patriarchal ways. I found it intriguing, even though I’m not sure I’ve ever seen it happen. I suppose that shouldn’t matter – we can give it a try anyway.

    What I took from that is that we can create our sanctuaries – on or offline, preferably both – where discussions aren’t sword fights and there is no king or queen of the hill.

    I’m looking forward to part 2 of that interview. I hope they go into it more! (otherwise, pattrice, if you read this, talk more about it please! lol)

    Herbivore might be a good place to pitch more articles, too. Now that they’re mostly online, I think they have a lot more “room” for articles than they did before.

    I’m not sure I know which pig is Benny. I’m still learning everyone’s names. But yes, they do all have compelling stories. I’ll have to ask Terry and Dave next time I go to PS! I’d love to see your painting. Do you ever go to their open house and other events? You should bring the painting, if so! It should be seen. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Neva May 18, 2007 at 11:27 am

    I used to go there a lot and I really should go back. Since we adopted the dogs we haven’t gone much because the dogs can’t be left for more than about six hours (I work early and Sean works late so we can keep that up on weekdays). I miss going there. I keep thinking I need to donate stuff to their silent auction too–I did it one year and then not so much later.

    Benny no longer looks anything like my painting since he was a young adolescent pig then and is now fully grown. The last time I was there I asked specifically which one was Benny and he still is just a very sweet good natured pig. He apparently fell off of a truck as a piglet and someone rescued him but was keeping him as a pet for a little while before bringing him to Poplar Spring.

  9. Deb May 18, 2007 at 9:55 pm

    I’ll definitely ask to have Benny pointed out next time I’m there. The pigs seem so good natured in general, and it is pretty amazing when you consider what they’ve been through. Some of the pigs that came in the past six months or so were used at a university in psychological experiments, which required them basically being kept completely isolated. Their first few days, they’d shy away from anyone reaching for them, since their only prior experience was that hands always came with something painful (shots, etc). And even for them, it only took a few days before they were going right up to people, asking for attention.

    Maybe I’ll see you there someday, if you’re able to go again!

Leave a Reply

