Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

sunshine thoughts

tempest in the sun in denver

Long before I gave much thought to turkeys and what they might like or dislike, I knew cats loved the sun. I love it too, and I loved curling up with them in the sunshine. Now I know that turkeys love the sunshine too, that they’ll curl up in their own way and take naps in the sunshine. Just like me. Just like me and my cat.

We have so many similarities, and less differences than we like to believe. The distinctions are often artificial, arbitrary, and more a construct of a human need to believe themselves unique and superior than a biological or social reality.

Stephen Wise brought this up in his book “Rattling the Cage” when he examined the genus/species designation of homo sapien. Classifications can be helpful in a way, when they are used in an attempt to understand and clarify. They’re harmful when they are used to exploit. What do we need to know other than the presence of sentience when determining whether we have the right to use and take the life of another?

I can’t think of anything.

turkey sleeping in the sun; poplar spring

One response to “sunshine thoughts

  1. cherie March 28, 2007 at 10:07 am

    I can’t think of anything, either.

Leave a Reply

