Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Dangermouse returns…

Dangermouse

Well, okay, he didn’t return so much as I saw him again. I posted about a mouse at Poplar Spring a while back, a mouse who was mysteriously missing an eye and had tattered ears. I saw him again last weekend!

I’d been thinking about him and hoping he was doing okay. I know that the mice at Poplar Spring have as safe and easy a life as any mice can have, but this little one-eyed guy tugged at my heart. It felt so good to see him again.

His mystery remains a mystery – how did his ears get tattered and how did he lose an eye? I’m not sure I’ll ever find out, but he’s safe, has food, and there are mouse ladders in the water bowls, just in case any of them fall in.

I can’t keep calling him the “one-eyed mouse”, so using google to help me come up with a name, it seems Dangermouse is really the only logical name to give this little guy. I missed watching this show on TV, but reading about it makes me wish I had! Crumbs, chief!


Dangermouse

A cartoon about a crime-fighting one-eyed mouse who lives inside a pillar box with his hamster sidekick, Penfold, was the only thing to watch after school in the Eighties.

Playgrounds echoed to the catchphrases “Crumbs, chief!”, “Penfold shush”, and “Si, barone!”, brilliantly voiced by Only Fools and Horses’ star David Jason, and Terry Scott.

Dangermouse was riddled with knowing references to dozens of films, and some critics now rank the series alongside Monty Python and The Goodies in terms of innovation.

2 responses to “Dangermouse returns…

  1. cherie February 20, 2007 at 9:30 am

    I’m so glad you saw him again! He’s so adorable. 🙂

  2. Deb February 25, 2007 at 2:46 pm

    I’m glad I saw him again too. Didn’t seem him this week, but the mice were napping or something this week. I didn’t see any!

Leave a Reply

