Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Some of the things I like about NYC…

Support Daniel McGowen

It was a good weekend. I needed a weekend like that. It was very vegan, filled with much laughter and thought provoking conversations. Lots of walking, and lots of food. Another 40 degrees and it would have been absolutely perfect!

Some of the conversations made me realise both how much I’ve learned in the past six months, and how much more I have to learn, all at the same time. Those are the best kind of conversations.

I was able to share my experience with the prisoner letter writing and Colin told us about his paper that will be presented at the “Thinking About Animals” conference in March. I got to see old friends, and meet new ones. We stayed up way too late, and lounged around in the mornings, forming connections and community. At the end of the weekend, I felt both exhausted and energized. I can’t wait to do it again.

NYC is one of my favorite places. Crowded and crazy, but where else do you find prisoner support stickers on the meters and “go vegan” on the store awning?

Babycakes entrance

5 responses to “Some of the things I like about NYC…

  1. Seb January 30, 2007 at 4:42 am

    Did you get to say hi to the cats inside the Moo Shoes store? I love that they have the cats in the store, including the grumpy one who mauls you if you try to pet him for too long! I bought a t-shirt there that was covered in cat hairs (nice detail, and I’m used to that anyway with my own cat).

  2. Deb January 30, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    Yes we did say high to the cats! Well, to the two black and white cuties. I have learned to leave the grumpy one be! We were talking about how awesome it is that they let the cats sleep on the shirts. Very much like home! 🙂

  3. RichBeBe January 30, 2007 at 10:08 pm

    Some of the things I like about NYC…
    Showing off my city to vegan friends
    Eating massive amounts of vegan food
    Drinking in a vegetarian establishment
    Sleeping late

  4. Seb January 31, 2007 at 5:54 am

    When I visited NYC and ate vegan at a different awesome place each time, I felt like I had traveled in time to the future. It was such a morale booster. NYC felt like a proof of concept for veganism!

  5. Deb January 31, 2007 at 9:29 pm

    Rich, you don’t have to be in nyc to sleep late! :p

    Seb, I agree – NYC is an awesome vegan place!

Leave a Reply

