Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Unexpected heros

birds in mexico

So often what I read in the news makes me think that people are jerks. Today, however, I came across two things that made me reassess.

The 14 year old boy who died, after saving his aunt from a house fire, when he went back in to save their two cats. Not a happy ending, but that was a boy who knew that we all have the same intrinsic value, and he was willing to give everything to try to save the rest of the family, who happened to be feline.

Then there was the TV helicopter pilot who saw a deer struggling on a partially frozen lake, and used his piloting skills in a clever way and helped save the deer. You can watch it here and hear them talk about it.

None of these people had to take any action at all, and yet they did. They took action to save individuals of a different species, with no need to consider what the right thing to do was. In some ways, I think this shows that we all know, deep down, that we all are due the most basic right – the right to live. Our lives are all worth exactly the same. It simply doesn’t matter what species we are, who our parents are, or how much money we have. Each of our lives is worth exactly everything.

abby scream

11 responses to “Unexpected heros

  1. RichBeBe January 18, 2007 at 10:53 pm

    Thanks I needed that one, I really appreciated the video and I want to send the chopper pilot a quick note. Of course the story of the boy is horrible but it is also great to know there are people who would sacrifice everything for an animal.

  2. SoCalMuchacha January 19, 2007 at 1:14 am

    Thank you so much for posting this! I had caught the end of the video when they showed in on the BBC, but had no clue what the story was behind it. I’d love to get a message to the animal-loving pilot, too…what a GREAT man. 🙂

    And that 14-year old boy…sigh. The things we do because something inside us just propels us to it, because we know it’s the right thing to do without thinking about it.

  3. Gary January 19, 2007 at 1:38 am

    Also inherent and uplifting for me in these two episodes is the compassion and sympathy for the individuals who were in trouble. Compassion makes the “other’s” pain our pain, and thus blurs the line betwwen “other” and “us,” for we are all connected.

    I’m reminded of Saint Francis, who considered the animals our brothers and sisters–since we are all endowed with intrinsic value and share a will to live, a fear of suffering, and a desire for comfort and happiness–and who felt that we had an obligation not only to refrain from harming animals–our first duty–but to help them when they were in need and we could be of service.

  4. cja January 19, 2007 at 7:25 am

    Thanks for sharing. I really liked that video; it brought tears to my eyes and made me think about the good that people do when it comes to non-human animals…even in light of the bad, especially when it comes to deer!

  5. girl least likely to January 19, 2007 at 1:11 pm

    thanks so much for the link! i had read the story about the deer, but hadn’t seen the video. i just forwarded it to a handful of friends. these are the kinds of stories that fill me with hope that EVERYONE is reachable.

  6. Deb January 19, 2007 at 5:22 pm

    rich, great idea. i meant to write to the pilot, so thanks for reminding me! I think this is a good email address to send our thanks to: my2cents@news9.net

    i’m glad everyone enjoyed the video! I don’t usually watch videos, as anyone who knows me well is aware, but I’m glad I made the effort to track this one down. It was really incredible.

    And yes, cja, it makes me remember that people do good things sometimes, and girl least likely to, that everyone really is reachable.

    gary, your thoughts are inspiring, as always!

  7. Deb January 19, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    SoCalMuchacha since akismet keeps thinking your comments are spam, i’m just replying to you now that I’ve despammed your comment! I’m going to have to send a note to wordpress. lol. anyway, I am glad that through some weird twist of fate, the one video i link is one that other people either didn’t catch on other sources or didn’t catch fully! lol.

    And I like what you said about something inside us propelling us to do the things we know are right, without needing thought. So true.

  8. surplusvalue January 22, 2007 at 7:25 am

    Just found your blog from Ryan on Veg blog (I’ll have to spend some time catching up on your posts :)).

    Thank you for the articulate inspiration, which serves as a healthy reminder as to why we are vegan. The fundamental principles; the right to live.

    ps: your photos are awesome.

  9. Deb January 22, 2007 at 3:45 pm

    Glad you found my blog via Ryan, surplusvalue! I took a quick peek at your blog and quite liked was is there so far! Thanks on the photos and the description as articulate. Sometimes I wonder! lol.

  10. surplusvalue January 23, 2007 at 7:38 pm

    :). You shouldn’t wonder, the posts I’ve read so far have all been very articulate and somewhat excellent.

    Cheers, Luke

Leave a Reply

