Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

January Letter Writing Party

denver balcony

The 2nd monthly prisoner letter writing party was today. It was fun – we started off at a local place that does a vegan brunch, and then we grabbed some couch space at a nearby coffeeshop.

I wrote five letters today, some from Will Potter’s green scare list, and some that Josh Harper mentioned in a holiday letter pubished to the community – his cell mates, plus someone else that they seem to hang out with. I’m not sure what I’m going to do if everyone writes back! Now that I’m getting the hang of writing to people who have no idea who I am, I am enjoying it. It feels good to reach out.

On our way home we stopped at the Brian MacKenzie InfoShop, and were lucky enough to get a parking spot right in front, and have the place be open. I love that little infoshop. The people were so awesome to talk to, and their book selection makes me want to start reading everything right then. I got just one book, on Che Guevara, but there were so many I looked at and had to resist buying. I really need to make some more progress on my pile that is waiting and always seems to be growing.

We talked a lot about the many political prisoners, and I got more info from them; a bigger list of people to write, and some websites that have good information and relatively frequent updates. (portland indymedia and ecoprisoners) The infoshop has a monthly letter writing party as well, and theirs is this Tuesday. I’m thinking of going. Partially for the prisoners, partially for the love of the infoshop, and partially for the promise of vegan goodies.

Leave a Reply

