Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

The mouse mystery

mouse at poplar spring

I don’t have a picture of the specific mouse, and I wish I did. I let my battery get too low on my camera and ran out of battery long before the photo op at Poplar Spring with the mouse.

I was in the bunny area to see Chloe, a bunny who a friend is sponsoring. I had meant to take pictures of Chloe for him, but no battery means no picture. Still, I wanted at least to take a peek at Chloe, so I was in the bunny section of the barn, and of course there are mice there too. This one came out of his little hole, just a bit, and sat there quivering his nose the way mice do. He reminded me, just a bit, of the mole I saved a couple months ago.

I noticed that one of his eyes looked funny. These mice that live in the Poplar Spring barns are tiny, smaller than the palm of my hands, and I’m a small woman. So it was hard to see what was going on with his small eyes on his small head at first. Then I realized that one eye wasn’t just partially closed – it wasn’t there at all. I kept looking at him, feeling sad and sympathetic and wishing I could do something for him, and it felt like he was checking me out too. Though probably he didn’t really know I was there, since I wasn’t moving, and I was more towards his blind side. As soon as I moved, he scurried back into his hole. We had a few minutes to check each other out first, or at least I had a few minutes to check him out.

As I looked at him I realized that his ears were all tattered too. Like bites had been taken from his ears. None of this looked new. He looked like he was in otherwise good health, not that I’m a mouse expert by any means. But his coat looked good, he wasn’t skinny or anything.

There are no cats at Poplar Spring. There are no predators in those barns, with a possible exception of snakes that probably find their way in sometimes. The snakes would eat a mouse whole, however. I told Dave about it, and I don’t think he’d seen that mouse before, and he was surprised at the description. We wondered about it, and tried to figure it out, but the mystery remains: what happened to that poor little mouse?

Be safe, my little friend. I’m glad you have the sanctuary to live at, because I don’t know where else you’d stand a chance.

foggy approach

4 responses to “The mouse mystery

  1. cja January 2, 2007 at 3:32 pm

    That is a mystery. Unless the mouse came from somewhere else, where he was abused and/or attacked by something.

  2. Deb January 2, 2007 at 4:40 pm

    Yes, that’s what I was thinking too! But the chances of him surviving whatever happened and then surviving the trip to get to the sanctuary, to safety? It just seems so unlikely! And mice do fight among themselves, but Dave said it is generally just boxing, he’s never seen any kind of fight that would do the damage that was done to this poor little mouse!

  3. girl least likely to January 4, 2007 at 6:48 pm

    maybe a bird tried to get him, and dropped him? poor little sweetie.

  4. Deb January 4, 2007 at 7:33 pm

    I hadn’t thought about a bird. There are eagles in the area, though I’m not sure they’d bother with such an itty bitty thing! I’m sure there are other birds that could have tried to get him, though I’m not sure it would explain his tattered ears! I’m certainly no expert, though.

    Poor little sweetie indeed. I hope I see him again.

Leave a Reply

