Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Sponsoring rescued animals

Peaceful Prairie Sanctuary

I first sponsored an animal at Peaceful Prairie out of laziness. I wanted to do something to help, and that was something I could do with minimal effort. I was in the habit at the time of donating some money every month to various organizations I’d research, so I figured Peaceful Prairie would be the recipient every few months.

john leeWell my laziness was such that I kept forgetting after that to send in my other quarterly checks for my poor neglected (by me) John Lee, the handsome rooster to your left! Today I sent a check for an entire year’s sponsoring. No forgetting now! At least not until next year.

I am no longer so lazy about putting in some labor to help out at Poplar Spring (I moved, so, sadly, I’m not in driving distance from Peaceful Prairie any more, and I miss it, though I do love Poplar Spring as well), but I haven’t yet sponsored an animal there. It is weird, because I know the individual residents by sight, if not always by name, and … well, I can’t choose one, can I? That wouldn’t be fair. Yet I know that animal sponsoring is one of the best ways for the sanctuaries to raise the money they need to keep running. I can’t even guess at how much it costs to maintain a sanctuary; have you ever thought about how big a cow is? They eat a lot. Poplar Spring has about 30 cows, and I think they said around 200 animals total.

Caring for the residents at the sanctuaries is a huge part of the life of a sanctuary runner, but certainly not all. Michele of Peaceful Prairie describes in this satya interview about the outreach she performs as well. As much as they love each and every animal they rescue, ideally it would be a service that was not needed at all. They live with the biggest motivators for outreach, for preventing demand for the animal products that cost the animals their lives. Michele has put together some great literature aimed at debunking the myth of humane animal farming, and I have found them to be great for leafleting.

There are many ways for us to help sanctuaries – services and talents we can all offer, our time and labor, but no matter what, the residents need to be fed, and they eat a lot. You also never know when something might happen and they end up needing the vet. That’s when the expenses really build up. And you can’t save them all, which is heartbreaking. Rest in peace Sherman. I thought of you this weekend as I handed out leaflets.

Sherman

Leave a Reply

