Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

monkey tags

monkey tag

At AR06 I bought a monkey tag from Jeremy at Primate Freedom Project. My letter to try to track down information on “my” monkey:

I am writing to request information on a specific monkey, a male M. Fascicularis born January 2, 1982, with the number T82004. My concerns are both general and specific, but the information I would most like to know is:

– Is this monkey still alive?
– If so, what is his medical status?
– What are his living conditions? Does he have access to the outside? Is he caged alone?
– How is he being used?
– What are the future plans for him?
– If he is still alive, will he be allowed to retire? And if so, when?

Thank you for your time. I look forward to hearing from you.

I’m pretty cynical, so I don’t expect to hear back from them. Anyway, chances are this guy gave his life to science years ago. 25 years would be a long life for a monkey of this species, and in the tender care of the experimentors? Yeah. Bleak, to say the least.

I have his tag attached to my key chain. It jingles a lot. I have to hold my keys a certain way when I run or it dangles. Even when I’m not looking at the tag I’m aware of it. T82004 probably never had a name. I’m going to call him Timothy.

4 responses to “monkey tags

  1. Mindy December 14, 2006 at 1:20 am

    I have one on my key chain too, #15198 at ONPRC. I hear the jangle all the time and it grounds me and reminds me of what is important. I still need to mail my letter though. I will do that tomorrow.

  2. Deb December 14, 2006 at 6:10 am

    Yes, that’s exactly how I feel when I hear it – the niggling reminder. Glad you got one too! It makes me feel a bit helpless that I can do nothing but request information, but everything has to start somewhere I guess…

  3. girl least likely to December 14, 2006 at 8:42 pm

    you’re really great for doing this. and timothy is a wonderful name. i hope you get a response!

  4. Deb December 14, 2006 at 11:37 pm

    Thanks! I hope I hear back from them too, but the researchers are notorious for not being very forthcoming. Still, you gain nothing by not trying.

Leave a Reply

