Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Lovebugs of the human and turkey variety

Baby Sky and Stanley

Yet another week missed! This time I had a much better excuse – I was off in warm (if not sunny) Florida visiting Mary. We made bagels and butter and burgers and cookie dough dip. I very slowly won the shy Stanley over so that on my last day he actually approached me for some head scratches. I would have done a victory dance if it wouldn’t have freaked him out! He’s a sweetie, just very cautious around people he doesn’t know.

Baby Sky is (still!) the cutest happiest kid in the entire universe. (Except for yours, of course!) I was amazed over and over at exactly how much a 19-month-old understands of what the people around her are saying (it’s got to be about 90%!), and how effectively she can communicate with few spoken words and a couple dozen signs. She taught me the sign for “more” in about 3 seconds, and trained me to read books to her or draw on the patio with her by asking with nothing more than a look. How do they do that? I’m around kids almost never, so I’m not well-versed in interpreting kids, yet I’d find myself following her out to the patio without understanding quite how I knew she wanted me to go out and draw with her!

Mind control is the obvious answer, right?

Baby Sky hanging out with Emme

In addition to the mind control, Baby Sky is pretty amazing in other ways too. She loves animals, and that love has been encouraged and nurtured. Whether a lizard, a bug, a squirrel, a cat, dog or bunny, she is thrilled to be around them all. It’s easy to see how vegan kids become the most natural and fiercest advocates. Mary participated in a podcast recently on AR Zone, where she talked a bit about vegan parenting in addition to other interesting topics. Well worth a listen.

Of course as soon as I got back from Florida the weather took a turn for the worse. Saturday at the sanctuary was cold and we had snow flurries most of the morning, but it was still good to be back.

I even got to see something that I hadn’t seen before – a female turkey displaying! It’s apparently a sign of dominance, and not all that common.

Cosette, displaying

It was pretty cool, Cosette was strutting around, doing the puffs of air. But unlike Victor or Hugo, she’d sit right down if you started petting her. Tilly and Cosette have turned into little love bugs!

6 responses to “Lovebugs of the human and turkey variety

  1. Sheryl February 17, 2012 at 2:41 pm

    She IS the cutest kid ever and that’s only from pictures. I’m around kids about as much as you are so I talk to them like I talk to you. Prolly why they always run away. ;-)

  2. Mary Martin February 17, 2012 at 8:33 pm

    Thanks so much for featuring my creatures! We went to the wildlife sanctuary today and saw 4 turkeys all displaying. Was it some kind of showdown? We also saw the cutest little mouse in an enclosure with a snake and one of the volunteers suggested we move away as the poor mouse was trying to escape but he was lunch for the snake. It was so tough telling Baby Sky we had to leave and of course when we went back later (which she insisted on) and the mouse wasn’t there, she was very confused. DEBACLE. Thanks for all of the help; it was certainly a less-than-ideal visit! And thanks to you we are all addicted to cookie dough. I don’t think we’ve gone one day without it since you left!

    • Deb February 17, 2012 at 8:50 pm

      I should have found a way to sneak Violet in there too!

      If wild turkeys are like Victor and Hugo, a showdown would have been a lot more dramatic and pretty unmistakable. Probably they were just trying to attract the girls.

      So sad about the mouse. :( That’s the tough part of raising such a compassionate kid.

      Glad you’ve been enjoying the cookie dough! I only get you addicted to the very best things!

  3. Provoked February 20, 2012 at 8:19 pm

    From kiddie/kitty snuggles to bird adoration… What a great round of activities and photos to tell the lovebugs story!

    Sky is lucky to have the very best of teachers to explain the fate of poor little mouse. And now to listen to Mary on AR Zone so that I may learn something as well! ;)

    • Deb February 20, 2012 at 8:52 pm

      Sky really is lucky! She’s got a great set of parents. You always hear that kids are like sponges, especially at that age…and it’s definitely true. But what that doesn’t get across (or didn’t for me) is how much work parents put into filling up their kid’s bucket with life-experience for them to do their sponge job on. It’s a big job, and it’s not for me, but it’s really awesome to witness people like Mary and Dave in action.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 619 other followers

