Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Kale and Cabbage, recipes please!

You know one of the hardest things is admitting that we need help. But I do, I need help.

I promised a friend that I would look up the recipes for my favorite Kale dishes. She has a bunch of it growing in her garden, and cabbage too, and is looking for recipes for them.

I’m struggling to find time to do the most basic things recently, and so I just haven’t had a chance to find those recipes for her. I feel really bad about this, and yet time is speeding by and feeling bad about the situation gets me no closer to getting her the recipes.

So, my vegan greens-loving friends, what recipes can you suggest? The kale and cabbage do not have to be in the same recipe, of course! ;)

12 responses to “Kale and Cabbage, recipes please!

  1. taleoftwovegans November 24, 2009 at 11:42 pm

    Wow, I just realized that is something called google books, not an amazon preview! Oops. How is it possible that the whole cookbook is online!? Crazy!

  2. Deb November 25, 2009 at 6:16 am

    totw – thanks! That looks like a great cookbook (how have I never heard of it before?!) and great recipes!

  3. Becky November 25, 2009 at 11:46 am

    Kale is one of my very favorite veggies! I really like it sauteed in olive oil with lots of garlic and salt and white pepper. Simple and delicious!

    You could also add ginger and use sesame oil in place of olive and Siracha sauce and soy sauce in place of salt and pepper. Maybe topped with toasted sesame seeds? Over soba noodles?

    I’ve also been wanting to try making Kale Chips for ages:

    http://allrecipes.com/recipe/baked-kale-chips/Detail.aspx

  4. mburgan November 25, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    I just made kale tonight that was a combo of saute and braising. Sauteed first in olive oil and garlic for a few minutes. Then threw in a concoction of lemon juice, balsamic, veggie broth and dijon mustard, salt, pepper, and oregano, and covered, so it cooked awhile. When the kale was done, I added some stuff I had previously prepared: porcini mushrooms, sun-dried tomatoes, and toasted pine nuts. yum!

    A variation: use an Asian-themed liquid for the braising–fresh ginger, lime juice, mirin, sesame oil. Keep the broth, ditch the balsamic and mustard. Maybe no tomatoes, and use fresh mushrooms.

  5. trktos November 25, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    i agree with becky – kale is great with soba noodles. i like soba noodles and mustard-related/semi-bitter greens with a spicy peanut curry sauce or a mustard sauce.

  6. Deb November 26, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    @Becky – that sounds delicious! And those Kale Chips look awesome. And so simple! I have to try those soon!

    @mburgan – great ideas!

    @trktos – mmm. soba noodles and peanut curry sauce…sounds so good!

    Thanks everyone for these ideas! I will get them to my friend asap, and probably pick up some kale at the store this week to make some for myself! :D

  7. Mary Martin December 3, 2009 at 9:24 am

    My 4-yr old niece’s favorite food is kale. I am currently a hater but trying to change that. Her favorite way to eat it is: steamed a little (just to soften) and then tossed in sesame oil with some liquid aminos (Mrs Braggs) and toasted sesame seeds.

    I’m going to give it a try. Meanwhile, I don’t even know what good kale even looks like.

  8. Deb December 3, 2009 at 7:58 pm

    Mary – kale has several varieties. There’s the curly stuff and the more flat-leaved stuff. I’ve never had a problem finding good kale at the stores – I think if it wasn’t good, it would be brown, dry, or maybe limp. If you know how to pick out swiss chard, you know how to pick out kale!

    What don’t you like about it? You might like it raw, too!

  9. Gary December 3, 2009 at 9:41 pm

    Mmm, these ideas sound scrumptious. I love sauteed kale. A hint I saw on a blog was that dinosaur kale works better for raw stuff. It had a raw kale salad recipe (which I tried with dinosaur kale) and it rocked. Peerhaps not super healthy with all the mayo and veggie bacon, but super-tasty. I’ll find the recipe link. I loved it.

    FYI, the Kale and Burdock Deluxe entree at Sunflower Restaurant in northern VA is delicious too, if you like kale at all.

  10. Gary December 4, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    Here’s the recipe: http://veganyumyum.com/2009/07/blt-salad/. I couldn’t get enough of it!

  11. Deb December 4, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    Thanks Gary! I haven’t had that dish at Sunflower, but I’ll have to try it next time! (They know me by name at the Baileys Crossroads location. I’m not sure if it is charming or embarrassing that they do! lol)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 616 other followers

