Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Daily Archives: December 11, 2008

Poplar Spring Animal Sanctuary 2009 Calendar, published


buy this calendar on Lulu.

It took ages, and so this feels very last minute, but I finally have a calendar available for sale. It is 13 months, with the final month containing basic information on the sanctuary. You can see a preview if you follow one of the links. Aside from the final, informational, month which is more of a panorama, all the other months, plus the cover, are different pictures of various animals taken at Poplar Spring Animal Sanctuary throughout this past year. I had wanted to have brief text for each animal’s story, but that takes too much coordinating (I didn’t know all of the stories) for something time sensitive this late in the year. Next year we will (hopefully) have all this done months in advance!

I ordered a couple copies for myself, and was informed that they should arrive in time for December 25. There is a 3-5 day print time, and then whatever shipping option you choose will determine how long it takes to get to you once printed. It does seem that if you need it in your hands in time for the Christian holiday, you still have time. Definitely time before the end of the year.

I’ve priced the calendar at $18. I thought about offering it at cost, but I’ve been doing a lot of thinking lately about what it means to give away our work for free. It becomes an ethical issue, in a way I hadn’t thought of until recently. Offering it at cost would mean I was undercutting others who were also working hard to come up with a calendar others might want. In addition, I am no longer comfortable with saying “look at all this work I have done, I value it at nothing.”

However, given that I am not comfortable profiting off of this calendar because I always intended it to be part outreach, part fundraiser (if on a very small scale), I will donate the entire $3.80 profit per calendar straight to Poplar Spring.

harley

harley

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 619 other followers