Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Daily Archives: October 31, 2008

black bean and tomato chili

A different cookbook, at last!

Tonight I knew I didn’t want to spend a lot of time cooking dinner (I’m through the southern bowl already, and that’s one of the biggest gripes about all this biking I’m doing – I’m going through food way too fast!), and I’d been eying a recipe in “The Garden of Vegan” for a while. I noticed the cook time on it was only 15 minutes, with very little other associated recipe time – some chopping, some sauteeing, but this was definitely a 30 minute recipe. Yay!

I ended up doubling the recipe, because it called for one 15oz can of crushed tomatoes. And naturally I had only the giant size can of crushed tomatoes. Fire-roasted, as it happens, and which I would definitely recommend using.

I had just one big can of black beans, so to double the recipe I did half black beans and half pinto beans.

Other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. And I had it with the leftover (carob!) molasses cornbread that I made to go with the southern bowl.

It is a recipe that makes me happy. Comfort food, with just a tad of … something … smokiness, maybe, from the fire-roasted tomatoes? I’m not sure exactly, but it is a really good recipe for me. And a great weekday recipe for those days when you just don’t have that much time and you want something easy and tasty and filling and satisfying.

it is also versatile, which is always a plus!

Speaking of Sarah Kramer, she’s going to be in DC this coming Monday, November 3rd. It is a COK benefit at a place I’d never heard of before (Science Club near Dupont Circle), but which apparently is now offering vegan options. Or will be, after November 3.

I can’t believe the veganmofo has come to an end! I think I accomplished the official challenge, and I certainly learned that blogging about food isn’t especially easy! Or it wasn’t for me. It did get me in the habit of posting more often, which I’d been hoping it would do. We’ll see how well I can do from here on out!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 618 other followers