Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Daily Archives: October 22, 2008

Greens

Jae Steel, author of “Get it Ripe”, commented on my post from yesterday asking whether I’d had any greens with my meal. And I hadn’t, of course!

That’s one of my biggest weaknesses, when it comes to my “eating fitness”. I don’t dislike greens, I just somehow rarely eat them. And steaming broccoli or spinach or kale couldn’t be easier or require less prep work unless I played the part of a baby bird and sat with my mouth open for someone else to put the steamed greens into. Which would be pretty cool, now that I think about it, but a wee bit outside the realm of possible!

So Jae’s nudge was a great reminder. Eating greens is a habit I simply must create. It needs to be a daily thing.

I’ll start next week, though, since I don’t think I’ll have time to get to the store before the weekend, and the farmers market is on Sunday. I can start planning now! Not that it takes much to plan for steaming greens!

This does mean I’m going to have to start going to the store more than once every 3 weeks though. That’s okay – I need to start making that trip on my bike, and I can’t carry 3 weeks worth of food on my bike! Well, I maybe could, but it would be a slow ride home.

Anyone have any favorite recipes, hints or tips? Anything you’ve done that facilitated a daily green habit?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 619 other followers