Invisible Voices

a voice for the voiceless

Daily Archives: October 21, 2008

Good Shepherd’s Pie and Gingerbread

Fall seems to officially have arrived in the DC area, with daytime temps in the 60′s and overnight temps approaching freezing. Just last week it was in the 80′s, so this has been a quick change in seasons for us. Perfect timing for the recipes I made this weekend.

Though to be honest, the food I am in the mood for rarely has anything to do with the seasons, so I’m almost as likely to crave a good bowl of chili in July as I am in January. This quick change from summer to fall did make me crave warming food, however. Luckily my last trip to the grocery store a couple weeks ago had prompted me to get the ingredients for two recipes that turned out to be perfect fall food.

Both were from Get It Ripe – Good Shepherds Pie and Gingerbread. Both were fantastic. I’m really happy with that cookbook – everything I’ve made from it has been stellar. And that had much more to do with the recipes than me!

The Shepherds Pie wasn’t one of those quick weekday recipes, at least not for me. (I’m slow!) It wasn’t a day long endeavor either, so it was perfect to make late Sunday afternoon. I got the lentils and potatoes cooking, and then started on the gingerbread. Once the gingerbread was baking, I did the rest of the vegetable prep and cooking, and by the time I’d done that and got the potatoes mashed, the gingerbread was ready to come out, the Shepherds Pie ready to go in.

I cooked the lentils with some leftover broth I’d had from making the simple seitan from Veganomicon last week, and that might have been the crowning glory to the Shepherds Pie. It is deliciously flavorful and a great comfort food for the first fall weather weekend.

The gingerbread is absolutely wonderful. The texture, the flavor, everything. I wouldn’t change a thing. Thanks to johanna for commenting in a post on one of my earlier VeganMoFo posts about this recipe, because that is the reason I got the ingredients I needed!

It was the first thing I’ve baked that called for coconut oil (at least where I actually used coconut oil), and I wonder if that made some of the difference in the texture and moistness. I would advise anyone making this recipe to make sure that their coconut oil is in its liquid state before they use it. That should have been a no-brainer, but for me I needed the reminder! I fought with it instead, having to mash the semi-solid parts as I mixed it in, which was annoying and gave me a hand-cramp…and still the gingerbread turned out really well! I think that makes it a Deb-proof recipe.

And both of these make great leftovers. It’s going to be a great week, lunch-wise!

If only I hadn’t run out of cocoa so I could have hot chocolate to go with it!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 619 other followers